Being a bird spotting geek in Perth


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » Perth City
February 27th 2009
Published: February 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

G'day! We have made it to Oz. It was only a 5 hour flight from Singapore which was all the better for the fact we managed to use our airmiles so it was free.

Perth is a nice city and we have mainly spent our time wandering about. As it gets dark quite late here we have plenty of time for exploring. After the obligatory trip to the supermarket yesterday (I now have 100 tea bags!) we went for a short walk. Even though it was gone 7 there was not a cloud in the sky and it was still warm and sunny. The highlight of the walk was seeing huge flocks of little corellas. (They are white parrots if you are not up on Ozzie birds) Needless to say I took loads of photos from varying distances as I realised that they were not bothered by me in the slightest and were happy all running around on the grass.

Today we went to King's Park which is a huge park in the centre of Perth. I saw loads of great birds which I have happily ticked off in my bird book (yes, I am a bird spotting geek!). For those of you that are interested it included a black cockatoo, a sacred ibis, some rainbow lorikeets, wattlebirds and those dreaded Australian magpies that always look like they are about to peck your eyes out. Aside from the bird spotting the park is really good to walk around which is what we spent our day doing. Our day was a bit shorter than it might have been as due to the jet lag we did not wake up to 10:30!

Whilst we were in Singapore my legs got nibbled by mosquitos so not I have 12 bites on my left leg and 10 on my right leg!! As you may well imagine it is not the look I was going for so now whilst everyone else has tanned legs, I have white legs that are covered in red splodges! I have invested in some tropical strength bug spray!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



7th March 2009

tea bags
Make sure to bring the tea bags back as there won't be any left in the lab by the time you get back.
12th March 2009

STOP!
If you are using all my teabags STOP NOW! I know it is you Chris.

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 75; dbt: 0.0959s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb