The Pinnacles


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Cervantes
February 28th 2009
Published: March 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

We have picked up our hire car and are now cruising around WA. Our first stop was Cervantes which is about 3 hours north of Perth. The town itself (or should that be village) is tiny but is close to Nambung National Park which was our main reason for comuing here. We are staying on a caravan site(the Ozzies love caravaniong and camping). Obviously we are not camping, we are staying in a 'unit'. I thought that this would be a mobile home but it seems to be a mini house. There is a living room/kitchen with a TV. There is a double room and a room with bunkbeds in. It is not ensuite as it was a budget unit, but this is a bank holiday weekend so we had to take what we were given!

Soon after arriving and stocking up at the bottle shop (only 3 pounds for a bottle of Jacob's Creek Sauvingon Blanc!) we headed to Nambung National Park. The main attraction is the pinnacles desert which is a desert that is filled with limestone pillars. It is really impressive and as a result I went into a photo taking frenzy! We did a short walk and a drive around the desert (don't tell the hire car company!) It was freakishly hot and there were quite a few flies so we had to sit on the car with ac on full blast to recover from the walk!It was really impressive though.

When we got back to Cervantes we went for a paddle to help us cool down. It was our first (but hopefully not last) paddle in the Indian Ocean.

Off to Kalbarri tomorrow. Hope to see and feed pelicans!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



3rd March 2009

Hello - original I know
I just wrote a nice message to you but when I tried to send it, ti wouldn't let me - something about my email address and then the window closed itself so I lost it. So I will try again. Your adventures so far sound great and I would much rather be there in the sunshine drinkning the nice wine than here where it looks like it is about to start raining!! Good luck with those Pelicans - THey have very large becks so I am not sure I would want to put my hands too close!! Tom and Abbey are coming to dinner on Friday which I am looking forward to as haven't seen them since their engagement do. Safe driving and drinking! Love Vxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb