Gill Goes.... Trekking the Bibbulmun Track... Dog Pool and Mt Chance Shelter


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Northcliffe
June 12th 2016
Published: January 23rd 2019
Edit Blog Post

Day 39

Maringup Shelter to Dog Pool

25.7km

Predictably glorious sunrise. Super flat hiking, flat, flat, flat and really wide cleared track- as in Bibbulmun Super Highway wide. It was very nice when the granite outcrops started popping up randomly throughout the terrain (cue coffee break). The surrounding vegetation was fantastic- grassy plains and a lot of mixed vegetation. Next highlight were the really tall grass trees, the third highlight was tadpoles. Yes, tadpoles in the puddles. Pockets of intensive birdlife then long stretches of silence and flatness. Took a lunch break at the 20km mark at an access gate. It became quite balmy at this point so the last 5 flat kms were in short sleeves under an alternating blue and cloudy sky.

Got to admit I was ready to see the campsite. Pulled in to the temporary camp at 2:10 ... it was ... not so dry. Lots of big puddles and uneven ground making for a challenging tent pitch. I decided putting down desquamated bark strips under my tent might be a novel way of elevating me a bit. I also decide to have a proper icy cold river wash - there is this
concreted pools section to perch on that looks relatively safe, trying to get into my night clothes when company arrived. Lucky for them I was mostly in my clothes at this point.

Anyway, after some chatting over dinner (cheesy mac cheese- OMG I love that stuff, cheese and crackers and half a Whittakers Peanut Slab) and just getting a fire lit ... that's when the rain started. I have renamed it Dog Olympic Size Swimming Pool of Water, Dog Mud Pool, Dog Quagmire... You get the idea. It was a long rainy night in the tent.

The bark idea seemed to work though, no ground leaks despite the deluge.

Impressions of Dog Pool- Beautiful spot overlooking the cascades of the river... I bet in spring and summer that water would be even more inviting. Right now the remnants of the old burnt out bridge are still there alongside the bright and shiny new bridge. The new shelter walls are up and there's a blue portaloo, picnic table and fire ring. Another shelter that I will look forward to going back to to see the finished result.

Body- Pack felt heavy to start, my L neck was really tight- readjusted the pack a bit which seems to have made a difference. Low grade headache (2 more Panadol!)- probably neck related. Rest of body feels fantastic.

Total people seen for the day- 2 runners, didn't hear them coming! They are on a charity run with support crew. Tony and Jane at the campsite- husband and wife hiking Walpole to Northcliffe. New birds today- ravens, red eared zebra finch, grey fantail, scarlet robin and white breasted robin.



Day 40

Dog Quagmire to Mt Chance Laundry

19.7km

Had my first pack up in the rain, it went surprisingly well. The rain stopping for 10 whole minutes was helpful- I spread out my groundsheet to do the final backpack pack up so that it was well balanced and water proofed (HAHA). Decided on just using the umbrella nad not my gortex - dumb move. Took the nice new bridge out of the quagmire, lots of sandy, waterlogged coastal plain walking. Very easy. Drizzle turned back to rain and back to drizzle. The sandy flat superhighway continued but for some variation, was generously dotted with emu/zamia poo in various stages of decomposition and pod germination. The rain conveniently eased for 30 mins at the 10km mark which was great timing for a morning coffee- starving.

At the 12.6km mark I was back off sandy highway and back into the Pingerup Plains. These plains were stunning- heathland, reedy open swamps, karri and jarrah hummocks, lots of small flowers, swamp banksia and scrub- excellent area, very colourful. Then it was back to inundation (track flooding). I should definitely have changed into my gortex - from this point I was about to become saturated. It started with the feet, putting off the inevitable, I just started walking through the inundation and soon my ankles were underwater- my socks and shoes were well and truly inundated. Speedy progress when you're no longer concerned about getting wet feet though. As the rain became a deluge and the track narrowed my shorts were next to succumb. At this point I stopped to put on the gortex.. just a bit late. Every single item of clothing I had on was wet through. Powered on past my next intended rest spot- the granite flats, in order to reach the shelter where I could get out of my completely inundated clothes and into my night clothes and waterproof pants (don't say it!). This shelter has steel struts - put up a line and utilised every single surface to hang all of today's clothes and about half of the contents of my pack.

Spent the rest of the afternoon/evening watching the rain, rotating the wet gear and eating. Dinner was by tealight.

Summation of Day 40- it rained "for 40 days and 40 nights" type proportions. Supersaturated. Needless to say I didn't get to climb Mt Chance...

Next time...

Impressions of Mt Chance Shelter- L shaped design with views through the trees to Mt Chance, awesome! Slight 3G signal. Excellent shelter for hanging stuff up.

Body- Back to excellent, wet, but excellent

Total people seen for the day- the 1 Dutch guy heading north at the 10km mark, we had a coffee together (love my thermos flask)


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

MossMoss
Moss

The granite outcrops are awash with mosses, lichens and various microcosms





Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb