Nice hostel shame about the town


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Geraldton
July 23rd 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Geraldton, described in the brochure as an infusion of styles, attractions and entertainment with more than enough for everyone to enjoy. The person that wrote that statement got a bloody good degree in marketing.

Geraldton is like many other towns in Western Australia. Small, run down and generally uninteresting. In contrast to this typically bland town the hostel is really nice. It’s a huge old building with large rooms and some lovely communal areas. Typical I find a nice hostel and it’s in a town with nothing much to see or do.
I decided that I should make the best of it and head out to see what I could.

Over the next 5 years Geraldton is trying to re-shape the waterfront which means currently it’s a giant building site so nothing much to look at there. I then did a huge walk to get round to what the map said was the beaches. True enough they were beaches but as Australian beaches go I’ve seen nicer.

While in Geraldton I also found out that the trigger happy police in Alice Springs caught me doing a massive 4mph over the speed limit. Luckily the fine is only 25 quid. On leaving Geraldton I made a concerted effort to never once go over the speed limit. I managed his quite well apart from I was overtaken by everything including one driver who even shook his fist at me. Maybe the police only give tickets to tourists. Oh well next stop Lancelin.


Advertisement



24th July 2006

alice springs
yes i think the police only pick on tourists, that was the scareyist place ever.
25th July 2006

Lucy
So many people are overtaking me here in New Zealand, they are heaps of crazy drivers here! Sounds fantastic about your diving, hope the master course goes well. Take care. Lucy -x-

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb