Finally Heading South


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Denham
July 19th 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Finally I manage to get the car out of the car park and onto the road heading south. My first stop however is only a short hour’s drive to Coral Bay. Still part of the Ningaloo Reef, Coral Bay sits on the other end of the reef. The whole town is solely set up for tourists with only 126 people living there, all of which work in the tourist industry. I spent a couple of days lazing around there and starting to read my dive master manuals.
As the town is so small it doesn’t have a water or electricity supply. Electricity comes from a generator and water comes from 850 metres underground. When it surfaces it is 56 degrees and has to cool in big pool before being used. It is full of minerals and salts and tastes disgusting. That’s probably why they tell you not to drink it!!

My next stop was further down the coast. The small village of Denham. This place has only really developed because of the dolphins in Monkey Mia. Monkey Mia is a tourist resort and not a town so I decided to stay in Denham. Denham is really nice and right on the coast with the water at high tide nearly lapping the main road. Again I spent a couple of days here lazing around, doing a bit of sightseeing and reading some more of my manual.
I decided not to visit Monkey Mia to see the dolphins as it has been described as a circus by many people. Each day the dolphins come into the beach to be fed by the wardens and each day hundreds of people jostle to see and photograph them. It was made even worse as it is currently the school holidays and there are far too many people around.
I have seen dozens of dolphins in the water in the last few weeks and was treated to my own display on the beach in New Zealand so it didn’t bother me that I was going to miss these.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb