Beeetles, Busselton and Birthdays.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Busselton
October 3rd 2011
Published: October 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So, in my last entry I discussed amenities in caravan parks. One further comment before I move on. The amenities block in Horrocks Beach Caravan Park is visited by large green beetles at night. They are a very pretty shade of green, almost emerald, and about 3cm in length. In the morning they have departed, are dead or cleaned up. On our last morning, I was having a shower, when I felt something in my foot. Looking down, I was horrifed to see one of these beetles crawling across my foot. This makes for a very unpleasant showering experience. When it happened a second time, I decided that was the best message I could get to cut my shower short, and beat a hasty retreat. The amenities block at Horrocks Beach Caravan Park wins no stars in my ratings. Shudder!!!
We planned GrandFinal day well. Fed the fish a bit of bait in the morning, had fish and chips for lunch in the van while watching The Game on TV, followed by feeding more bait to fish in the afternoon. The outcome: great game with Geelong finishing the victors, and a realisation that there are no fish on the west coast of Australia. We are hoping somebody takes pity on us soon and provides us with a barrel of starving fish to fish in. Even then, we probably still wouldn't catch one.
We had a very long drive through fields of wildflowers down to Busselton, bypassing Perth, and arriving late in the day to a warm welcome by Christine (Frank's sister) and Richard. A lovely home cooked roast dinner and a few glasses of wine. A good end to the journey and start of a weeks break in Busselton.
Today we had a leisurely day looking at shops and getting aquainted with the town. Busselton boasts the longest jetty in the Southern Hemisphere. It suffered serious fire damage as a result of a discarded cigarette a few years ago, and most of it has been rebuilt. There is a train which runs the length of the jetty and an underwater observatory near the end. Tomorrow we will do a day trip down to Margaret River and Dunsborough.
Today, being my birthday, my birthday present is a lovely souvineer of Busselton, a pair of peridot and gold earings from the antique store. Today was a lovely day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0915s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb