Pre Trip Blues


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Traralgon
November 14th 2013
Published: November 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hi All

Have started my leave and am in prep mode for the odyssey with Gaynor (aka Fairy Godmother). 3 days out and I have yet to start packing. Gaynor has mostly done hers but she heads off tomorrow for a girls weekend away in Sorrento leaving me to finish the laundry, clean up the kitchen and make the bed.

Planning has gone well with only being over budget by about 10% so far. Not bad considering some of the extravagance we will indulge in.

My spreadsheet has become fairly expansive. Gaynor believes I get more joy out of the planning phase than I do about the actual trip. I admit I do enjoy it, but it does help avoid nasty time consuming problems that could or should have been resolved at the planning stage. It (the spreadsheet) has been referred to on many occasions during the weeks leading up to the coming event

Am looking forward to the break and I do not go back to work until the 11th of January, sort of practice retirement, which I am heading towards in the coming year.

Gaynor keeps asking me what I am looking forward to the most and I reply that I am unsure. The 2 things I have not yet done is 1.River Boat cruise and 2.Business Class Flights to and from. Great expectations! I hope I am suitably impressed with both because sometimes expectations don't live up to reality ( re - A visit to Quay ).

Just for an overview, we head off on Monday to England via Singapore. Spend 2 days with the Great Aunty Gaynor. From there we head to Bath for 2 nights visiting some of Gaynor's relations on the way. From there we head north to Edinburgh to catch up with the luvly Robin and Kate. 2 nights there then to York for a bit of SHAMBLING (if you know what I mean) for 2 nights then of to London via Oxford to catch up with Uncle Ray.

After relaxing in London we head to Buda and Pest for 2 days prior to our voyage down the Rhine for 15 days with an all inclusive cruise,food, booze, tours etc. Land in Amsterdam and straight to gay Paree (Paris) for 5 days before heading home so Gaynor can construct Christmas at home with all the baubles and trinkets she manages to stuff in her and my suitcases

Anyway I am looking forward to the journey and as they say, what doesn't kill you can only make you stronger,

will post again soon

Greg

Advertisement



14th November 2013

Looking forward to seeing you both, Lovely Greg.
From Robin and me. Kate xx

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.089s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb