A Canadian in Australia - thirty days. Day 19. Queenscliff, Point Lonsdale and ferry to Mornington Peninsula.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Queenscliff
March 17th 2019
Published: March 17th 2019
Edit Blog Post

The main thing today was to take the ferry to the Mornington Peninsula. I arrived at Queenscliff where the ferry leaves every hour on the hour to Sorrento. I arrived early thinking I would take the 2PM ferry which would give me some time to look around. I saw a little of Queenscliff, visited the lighthouse, and saw one or two of the local beaches. My main activity, however, was a walk from Springs Beach to the Point Lonsdale Lighthouse. There was a lovely combined walk/bike path along the coast from Queenscliff to Point Lonsdale. Once I approached the point, fortunately the tide was low which allowed me to scramble around the point and complete the walk along the beach. There were lots of unique volcanic rock formations and structures to keep me amused so all in all it was an enjoyable walk. The weather was quite nice, around 26, and in total the trip took about two hours, including my mandatory flat white and muffin at one of the local cafes. I made it back in time for the 2 PM ferry and after a short ride of about 45 minutes, I arrived in Sorrento. It was a Sunday and this small tourist town was abuzz with the Melbourners and their day trips. Hopefully tomorrow it will be less busy as I have a few majestic coastal/beach walks to do as the area is quite scenic with the beaches, walks etc.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



21st March 2019
Beach at Queenscliff

very nice beach
21st March 2019
The lighthouse and pier at Point Lonsdale

Nice sunny day, you are having very good wether since beginning.

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 21; qc: 107; dbt: 0.1036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb