Friday & Saturday 7 & 8 November


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
December 1st 2014
Published: December 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Friday was my last day in Melbourne before catching a flight back to Sydney and then on to Auckland. I packed had breakfast, checked out and then headed out to the city. I had a free ticket for the sea life centre and it was only just up the road so off I went. It was pretty much the same as other sea life centres I had been to (Bangkok and Sydney) so I will so are you the details lol, but out up some photos.



After being in the centre for over and hour I caught the free tram and sat and watched the city go by and eventually got off near the library and then went shopping. I decided I needed some gloves and a hat for NZ as the days in Oz have been warm but the nights do get cold, and as NZ is further round and a bit cooler, and I will be up in up in the mountains I decided to err on the dude of caution.



After shopping I sat outside the library enjoying the hot sunny weather and ate my lunch which I had made earlier in the day. I was just leaving to catch the free tram back when I spotted Kate who had been on the Ayers rock tour, I knew she lived in Melbourne but I didn't expect to see her so it was a nice surprise. After a catch up and it tuned out we were flying out at similar times later that evening, I headed back to the hostel via the supermarket to get some tea. I just chilled out watched a bit of pulp fiction and had tea. I collected my bags and headed round the corner to wait to be picked up and taken to the airport.



I got to the airport in plenty of time and then waited to be checked in. Once booked in I say and waited for my flight back to Sydney, whilst waiting Kate and Julie-Anne arrived so we had a quick chat before I had to get my flight. The trip to Sydney uneventful and in fact we arrived earlier than planned due to a good tail wind :-)



My flight to Auckland wasn't until 9.30am the next morning so I found myself a quiet corner in the airport and settled down. I did think it was very quiet with only maintenance and cleaning staff around but didn't think much to it. About an hour later a security guard came along and asked me to move as the airport was closed! Apparently it closes between midnight and 3am due to a curfew or law or something so I had to wait downstairs with about 20 other people. I did try to get some sleep but it was cold and I couldn't get comfortable. When the airport opened again in went to find my comfy quiet spot again and tried to get dome sleep. Later I got some food and eventually checked in and joined the long line to go through immigration and bag checks. Then there was the usual wait until I could board my plane. I actually fell asleep before we took off lol and then when I did wake we were still on the Tarmac and took off late. I was lucky enough not to have any one sat next to me so made myself comfy and watched the TV.



Although we took off late we still landed on time and when I came out of the airport I caught the airport bus which dropped me off near to my hostel. I checked in and they had upgraded me from a room with no window to a room with a window! A 4 bed dorm which is a bit more expensive, but it's less people to put up with lol. There was an English girl and a German couple in there too, all of which were moving out the next day.



As soon as I arrived I had a couple of hours sleep as I was knackered. Later I went to the bar to get some food and a beer and ended up watching the England Vs NZ 4 nations match. A good game but we list by 2 points :-( I then came up to the room had a shower and went to bed as I was knackered as did my roomies.



Xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0743s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb