Life As I Know It


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
February 10th 2011
Published: February 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hey there everyone!

Alright, once again... this is not going to be a massively exciting update. HOWEVER. I do have exciting news (although you've all probably heard about this news either through facebook, email, or my lovely parents that FORWARD MY ACCEPTANCE LETTER TO MEMBERS OF MY FAMILY). Yes, you may note the exasperation in the latter part of that sentence.

Speaking of acceptance letters... I got into King's College! I'm still waiting to hear back from University College London and the London School of Economics, but regardless, I'm moving to London in September! I may actually show up a bit earlier because a) I need to find a place to live; b) I want to visit Molly in Ireland and c) I want to travel through England with Molly to visit friends, relatives, and various tourists locations (i.e. Stonehenge). The King's program is an M.A. in International Peace and Security, and if you happen to be incredibly bored and you're looking for something to do, here is the link: http://www.kcl.ac.uk/schools/sspp/ws/grad/programmes/mapeace/

The program is pretty well renowned both in the UK and internationally. The director of the program has done a lot of work with the Yugoslav wars (a subject that I focused upon heavily in my undergrad career) and was actually the first person to present evidence in the International Criminal Court for the Former Yugoslav. A.K.A., he's a badass. Also, side note: I've always wondered... who are the people who work as defense attorneys for International Criminal Courts, and how do they sleep at night? I totally understand working as a domestic defense attorney, and I honestly haven't completely ruled that option out as a life plan, but defending people who committed GENOCIDE? Wow. That takes a lot of... something.

Anyway, back to life in Australia. I have a job! Yes. You read that right. A month into living here and four weeks of dwindling and pathetic bank statements later, I have a job. My first day is on Monday and I'm going to be selling green energy. Yep. I'm going to be a salesperson. Thank you, working holiday visa. That being said, the company (it's called The VOX Group) is very much centered on young, outgoing people (a large majority are backpackers) and the vibe is very upbeat and fun, so hopefully it'll be as fun as selling electricity and gas can be. (Once again, thank you, working holiday visa. If I'm in this position after getting my master's... put me out of my misery and do something to induce brain damage, ok? Thanks.) There is a lot of opportunity for growth and it basically seems to be one of those things where if you're good at what you do, you'll make a potload of money.. and if you suck, well.. sucks for you! That being said, I tend to think of myself as fairly sociable and easy to get along with, and I figure those are two key ingredients for a good salesperson. We'll see.

In fun, going out news... well, I'm not going to top the drag queen this time around (did I write about that in my last blog? The drag queen show in which my housemate spontaneously performed? After the warehouse gig the night before? No? Maybe? I don't remember. Good times though.) but I AM going camping all weekend and it just started raining so it shooould get interesting!! This past weekend was fun as well but fairly low key... Friday night we had a viewing party at a friend's house.. we watched.. The Castle. Very Australian. Very cute. I'm pretty sure you would only be able to understand it after a month of talking Australian though! Saturday night a friend of mine had a housewarming party.. yep. That's about it. OOH! THE SUPERBOWL!

We (we meaning myself, my housemate Daniel, and my friend Easton) woke up around 7am to make it to this bar in the city called The Turf by 9am. The doors opened at this time and the game started about an hour and a half later. I figured it wouldn't be a big deal to show up a little late (and by "a little", I literally mean 15 minutes) as the Superbowl is a very American thing and I'm in.. Australia. We get there at 9:15 and this place is PACKED. As in, standing room only. By the time the game started, there were at least 200 people packed into this relatively small bar. Including a 6'10" Texan professional baseball player? Random, I know. Thankfully, he allowed me to stand in front of him. (That being said, I was standing on my tiptoes and darting back and forth all game to see the big screen TV. It was PACKED.) It was a great time, even though I was pretty frightened the entire time that I was going to get a knife stuck in my back due to the fact that I forced my housemate to wake upat 7am to watch American football with me. That feeling started to subside after I had bought him a few rounds of drinks though! That was ME buying HIM drinks.. not the other way around. Me? Drinking? During the Superbowl? Surely not. =)

In summary, I'm REALLY excited about moving to London and I'm really looking forward to Molly's arrival, the new job, and living in general. Hopefully camping this weekend will produce some more exciting blog-worthy material. In the meantime, have a fantastic day!!

Advertisement



11th February 2011

I love it! You, too!

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb