Australian Open


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
January 19th 2011
Published: January 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Back in Melbourne, the home of sport and I'm here to watch the Australian Open. Here I am expecting 40 degree heat as they always tend to have whilst this tennis tournament is on, but no, yet again it's cloudy, it seems to be following me. First day of the tennis I had an open ticket so watched the outside courts, not many early games were that interesting, but I headed to the court that Davydenko was due to play a man in form called Mayer. Whilst watching the pre match in which the women were truly terrible and I reckon I could have taken them they were that bad. But the following match was a high quality one and with Mayer beating Davydenko 3 sets to 1.

Managed to catch a little of Thomas Berdych before I had to leave early as I was heading to the Neighbours night out in which I met Skye Manley again, Dillon Timmins and the legend himself Dr K. Enjoyed every minute of his performance and just had to chuckle to myself as I was watching him live. The downside to the evening was that he mentioned the following week they were doing a fund raiser for the Queensland flooding and he was trying to get about 20 cast members down, missing out on potentially meeting Harold, Susan and Paul Robinson.

Next day I had purchased a Rod Laver ticket hoping to watch either Federer or Nadal and luckily Nadal was playing in that session. The downside was that the other guy was incredibly bad, he retired after being 6-0 and 5-0 down and having one about 9 points in the whole match and after reading a report on the plane he only actually won 1 point himself, all the others were rafa double faulting or hitting a bad shot. Also watched Zvonerova who annilated her opponent and Sam Stosur of Australia whoop her player partner. So it's not really worth watching the main courts in the early rounds as they are just too good. After these quick matches I managed to get on the Margaret court arena to watch Robin Soderling, who was very impressive.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Alan FletcherAlan Fletcher
Alan Fletcher

The man in action
Alan FletcherAlan Fletcher
Alan Fletcher

Owning the stage
MayerMayer
Mayer

Mayer beating Davydenko


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb