Back Down Under!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
July 3rd 2009
Published: July 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

With less than two hours stopover in Hong Kong we headed for the Qantas lounge anyway. By the time that you are processed as a transit passenger it doesn’t leave very much time at all before you are re-boarding the plane!

For the last couple of days in London I kept thinking there was something that I wanted to check on the internet. Somewhere over Russia I remembered that the project that I had been working on at the office before going on holiday was supposed to ‘go live’ on 30 June. Gosh, I must have been having a great holiday to forget that??! My excuse is that I also had to remember to vote on my new Agency Agreement. I remembered to do that and then must have had a brain fade!! So, I logged on in the Qantas lounge at Hong Kong and found the decision tool had indeed been launched. How exciting! It was a bit slow on the computer I was using. Hopefully that had more to do with the computer that I was using than the application? I guess I will find out more about that on my return to work.

Unfortunately, neither Bernie nor I have been able to get away from work completely on this trip. At least I haven’t been undergoing a selection process while on holiday like Bernie. He has received notification in the last couple of days to say that he is still in the running and needs to attend for an interview on his first day back at work on Monday.

Back on board for the final leg of our journey we were notified that we would have a short delay before take off as we waited for some passengers connecting from another flight. How boring, sitting on the plane again waiting around for take off!!

Even though I didn’t sleep much on the last leg I didn’t want to sleep much on this leg as I wanted to be able to sleep Friday night on Melbourne time. That’s the best idea for avoiding jet lag. So, I finished my book, dozed a little bit and then watched ‘Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead’ - a rather disturbing little tale of two brothers who organize the robbery of their parents' jewelry store in an attempt to solve their money worries. The job goes horribly wrong, triggering off a series of events that send them and their family hurtling towards a shattering climax.

Despite the short delay at Hong Kong, we arrived in Melbourne 10 minutes ahead of schedule. We stocked up on duty free alcohol and then collected our bags from the carousel where we saw Angela and her Beagle working the crowd. She was much too busy for more than a quick hello. We told the Customs staff that we had been on farmland within the last 30 days, but they didn’t seem to be too bothered about it and waved us through.

Kerry brought our car out to the airport to collect us so we dropped her off at her house in Thornbury before heading home to Hallam to an ecstatic welcome from two Golden Retrievers!!



Advertisement



5th July 2009

welcome home!
hope you enjoy a nice rest at home before returning to work, and good luck with the interview Bernie.

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb