Who decides to dig the road at 11pm??


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
October 3rd 2007
Published: October 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

DinnerDinnerDinner

Looked so good I had to take a picture!
Ok - this post is in "real" time and we have a few to fit in before it - but I have to get down on "paper" what is happening outside just now (as Claire is still at work and I can't even moan to her about it!!).Its exactly 6 mins past 11 at night. I came to bed about 10.30 and had been typing a blog about a few weeks which I'll put online tomorrow and, all of a sudden, hear a massive thud outside.I still don't know what the thud was - but, almost immediatly after it, some bloke has started digging the road with a pneumatic drill - literally right outside the bedroom. Seriously - it is after 11am and I have to be in work for 8.15 in the morning. Don't they have laws about that??Claire has now came in from work (I'll let her fill you in what she has been up to) and has told me that the noise is actually guys digging up the tram tracks (which is about 50 meters away round the other side of the building) and they look as though they are going to be there all night - presumably they need to wait until after 11pm when its a reduced service or something - but I have work in the morning!!Actually - its gone a bit quite now - fingers crossed.Hot news just in on this one- We have had an e-mail from someone in the UK telling us what the noise was outside that night. Apparently, an underground electricity cable exploded which could have caused a large scale gas explosion - so the problem had to be dealt with there and then.To Claire and I, it simply looked like three guys with "Yarra Trams" on their jackets and on their land rover thing fixing a bit of the tram track (that was shinny in the morning) - but there you go, would never have guessed we were close to almost certain death if they hadn't sorted the exploded wires! I've also added a wee picture of what Claire had waiting for me after a 5km run.

Who else will look after him when I'm at work!!! (Claire)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0667s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb