A Canadian in Australia - thirty days. Days 16 and 17. Grampians National Park


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Grampians
March 15th 2019
Published: March 15th 2019
Edit Blog Post

I left the coast of Australia and am heading inland to do some hiking at The Grampians. I arrived in Halls Gap just after lunch and got a few maps and ideas from the staff at the visitor centre. I immediately tackled the short (2 km) Fyans Creek Loop. A non-descript walk through the forest/scrubland surrounding the visitor centre. A short stroll of about 30 minutes. In the town of Halls Gap there is the Venus Bath Loop. Still short (2.3 km loop), it was more interesting as you hike up a ravine with towering sandstone cliffs and boulders on either side to a number of rockpools. A great place to soak your feet an a hot day. That was day one in the Grampians. A relatively slow and easy day. At least I am entitled to wear a "I hiked The Grampians" t-shirt. Day two is bound to be more taxing. And it was. Day two was a great day hiking in the Grampians. I did two very unique trails - Grand Canyon Loop and the Pinnacles. The former was about one km in length and you basically hiked up a ravine with huge boulders on either side. Was a fun, less-than-an hour hike. Now I am due for my "I hiked the Grand Canyon" t-shirt. The Pinnacles was much more demanding. The hike to the viewpoint was 2.1 km and of course quite steep in parts. Interestingly, the majority of the trail was on rock or boulder, well-marked, and little scrambling required. It took me an hr to hike each way and I spent about 30 minutes there feasting on grapes and Mars bars. And of course admiring the panoramic scenery at the pinnacle. It was a beautiful day to hike, around 25 and lots of shade along the trail. My last stop was at Boroka Lookout where you got some amazing views of the area below. I had intended to do another lookout but turned left rather than right, and since I was driving on those narrow windy roads in the mountains, the ones with no shoulders, I just didn't turn around (not that you could even if you wanted to). Anyway, after almost 6 km of hiking up and down, my knees were telling me that's enough. A short but good visit to the Grampians.


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



16th March 2019
Venus Bath

looks like a pool !! even whirlpool, Venus likes action!
16th March 2019
The Grampians

really beautifull
16th March 2019
My morning commute I had company

After all it is Australia...there is a need to see some or many!
16th March 2019
My morning commute I had company

They are like our moose. See them on the roads often. Early morning and evening.

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 35; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb