A Canadian in Australia - thirty days. Day 15. Cape Bridgewater, Petrified Forest, The Blowhole, Tarragal Cave, Shelly Beach and a revisit to Yellow Rock


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Cape Bridgewater
March 13th 2019
Published: March 13th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Day 15 is the mid-point of my trip. Had a great day today. I visited Cape Bridgewater from Cape Nelson which is about 30 km away. The major highlight was to visit the Petrified Forest there. Upon arrival they made it clear what I was seeing was not petrified trees but the shapes of rocks eroding over time - very interesting colours, all shapes and sizes. It kind of looked like what you would see stepping on the moon. Actually, it reminded me a little of the rocks around the Tablelands in Newfoundland Canada. An interesting visit. Nearby was the Blowhole, a hole or cave in the rocks that made sounds as the ocean waves rushed in. Although the sea was angry this day no sounds to be heard. Nearby was Tarragal Cave, an interesting cave structure high in the hill. I scampered up of course to have a closer look. On the way back to the cottage I visited Shelly Beach, named for the abundance of shells found on the beach. Then, lastly, I revisited Yellow Rock as I wanted to check out the beach access. I visited the shoreline and as is often the case, somewhere on the beach there are some unique rock formations. The waves were quite strenuous as they often are in this area. I gingerly just watched from a distance as they are quite unpredictable and it is not unusual to have a rogue wave remind you who is the boss. I learned this a few times this trip having a little more respect now for their unpredictability. Hmmmmmmmmmmm, maybe I should put my backpack a little further back or at least higher up. Cant count how many times I had to change my socks and footwear as a result of these errant waves.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



16th March 2019
Petrified Forest

I like the look of these rocks, different forest!
16th March 2019
Petrified Forest

Same place. Other side, closer to the water.
16th March 2019
Tarragal Cave

Is it deep? did you go inside?
16th March 2019
Tarragal Cave

Not deep at all. You could see the walls from the entrance.
16th March 2019
Shelley Beach

looks like a crown to me
16th March 2019
Shelley Beach

I thought so too.
16th March 2019
Shelley Beach

I thought so too.

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 36; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb