Camino de Santiago, Take Two


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Bacchus Marsh
July 14th 2016
Published: July 14th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Camino de Santiago : St Jean Pied de Port to Finisterre, September 2016



a trip by Camino0914From: September 17th 2016Until: November 5th 2016
<br style="-webkit-text-size-adjust: 100%!;(MISSING)" />After a slightly interrupted Camino in 2014, I'm having another go at it in September, 2016. I'll be accompanied by a friend, John who is new to this, and a little reliant on me for guidance . Poor John ! We will walk the Camino Francés between the 17th of September and the 5th of November and preparation is well underway. Flights are booked, the first night's accomodation is booked, so it's all done. Physically, there is still work to do but it should be OK.

This trip involves getting to St Jean as quickly as possible, probably catching a train heading south from the airport in Paris, and spending 2 nights in SJPP before heading over the Pyrennes into Spain. Beyond that there is no planning, just walking and reacting to whatever happens.

Advertisement



14th July 2016

You are arriving in Santiago...
the same day that Tom (Martin Sheen) did in "The Way"...5 November according to his Compostelo. Perhaps I'm too detailed oriented!
14th July 2016

Very detailed!
Hi, I should actually be back in Australia on the 5th and can't really put an exact date on our arrival in Santiago . Martin Sheen and The Way is what started this whole interest for me, so I thank him and Emilio E. for that. Depending on time, I would like to walk to Muxia after Finisterre but I also need to consider the transport options back to Santiago from there. Transport is better from Finisterre and we could reverse the way we go, but apparently you then miss a pretty impressive coastal walk into Finisterre. We will look at it at the time and maybe rely on a bit of local knowledge , cheers Steve
15th July 2016

Paris to SJPP
While I'm a slow traveler and meandered for months from Paris, eventually I took a route that may work well for you. Paris to Bayonne, where I stayed in the well-located and economical Hotel Paris-Madrid, which when I did the Camino in 2003, was run by a guy and his wife who'd done the Camino and was super enthusiastic about it. They even lent me walking sticks, which turned out to be invaluable. From Bayonne, there is an adorable, narrow-track train that threads through the mountains to SJPP. Buen Camino!
16th July 2016

Getting to St Jean
Hi Tara, your suggestion sounds good and I'm looking at Paris - Bayonne - SJPP but am hoping to do it in one day. We arrive in Paris at 7.55am if all goes to plan and have a night booked in SJPP for that night. That can be cancelled if plans change, and a day in Bayonne could be good. It depends how early the train to SJPP leaves as I would like to explore it a little before spending a night in an alburgue and walking the following day. You have given me something to think about so it's great to hear of your experience. Walking sticks are a must to me; no arguments on that one. Stay with us and advice is always welcome , cheers Steve

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb