Day 7 - Coward Springs to Halligan Bay


Advertisement
Published: May 9th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Today we had two options, one was to stay at William Creek the smallest town in South Australia with 14 people or head out to Halligan Bay on Lake Eyre. I was keen to go to Halligan Bay but I wasn’t sure about the road I spoke to my mate Tim, who suggested we speak to Ian and Sue. Ian felt it was a bit rough and asked if I had a satellite phone and two jacks. We both agreed that a satellite phone was probably good enough, when Becs came over we started to talk about the weather. Along the way to William Creek we stopped at the Strangeways Telegraph Repeater. This was built when they constructed the overland telegraph and they built a police station, stock yards, graveyard and an AFL stadium. We also stopped at one of the water softeners used on the Ghan. The artesian water was too hard for the steam locos. We stopped at William Creek to re-fuel and then headed out to Halligan Bay. The road was a bit rough with some deeply rutted soft sections but we made it. Still haven’t engaged low range yet. As we approached, the landscape turned black like something out of Lord of the Rings. We passed a number of 4WDs heading back and then we arrived. As we arrived Edward John Eyre’s words drifted through my mind “The whole was barren and arid-looking in the extreme, and as I gazed on the dismal scene before me I felt assured, I had approached the vast and dreary desert of the interior”. No actually that was Becs in the passenger seat. In this situation the fact that Lake Eyre looks this barren is actually entirely my fault. It has nothing to do with geology, meteorology or God. It was me!! The fact that the only other available accommodation is a town with 14 people (and a waste tip) is not relevant. I have to admit that the wind was howling. Anyway we (I) set up the camp and then two other 4WDs turned up. They were as surprised as us and even though they were kiwis I was glad to see them. We lit a fire, the wind died down and I cooked chicken with smashed potatoes and brussel sprouts (my favourite) and we drank a bottle of the Oodnadatta Shiraz (which I suspect doesn’t actually come from Oodnadatta).

Things we learnt:

- A lot of effort goes into those telegraph repeater stations

- Any stuff up on this trip is my fault



- If you are upset you don’t have to help (see above)

Advertisement



9th May 2017

Great to see some old dogs learning some new tricks!
Having read all the entries in one go ( mainly due to the fact that the blog address was sent to my husband and not me) I am delighted to see Chris and his trusty navigator Rebecca navigating a steep learning curve so effortlessly. Who would have thought that so quickly they could immerse themselves in the customs and culture of the Australian country life. I am astounded that Chris is now able to hobnob with the locals so comfortably. This may be the beginning of a new life on the road as grey nomads who spend a lot of time in their deck chairs comparing photos of the grand kids and coveting the passing 4wd rigs with all the bells and whistles. Great to read about your travels. Maybe the next entry might offer a female perspective of life on the road. Come on Becs, what about a guest editorial from the navigator. Cant wait to hear whats coming next.
9th May 2017

Blog Contributions
Jac thanks for your interest in the blog. I will see if Becs is interested but I suspect she is daunted by my unparalleled blogging talent.
9th May 2017

Not sure if I am a follower
Was there an outdoor drive in at Oodnadatta - or haven't you been there yet. How are your dogs. All good here- I had to miss STOIC lunch but Eric,Fitzy and Donald flew the flag very strongly
10th May 2017

Singing
Have you been entertaining Becs with any singing?
12th May 2017

Singing
No just guitar playing.
10th May 2017

Question
Why are my wife's comments being listed and mine not ??
12th May 2017

Her comments are more worthwhile?

Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0928s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb