Farina to Lake Eyre


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Lake Eyre
July 12th 2013
Published: July 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

This morning we started to slow everything down. We are far enough north to be comfortable with our timing so now we’re doing things slow. We started off by looking at the historic township of Farina. There isn’t much left but they have documented it really well and we got a real feel of how life was in the late 1800’s in this eerie little town.

We wandered up the road to Marree where we again fuelled up and I went down to the nurse’s station where I picked up some antihistamines. My virus had finished but then, because I am a big blouse, started suffering from hay fever. I met the loveliest nurse who fixed me up, and as I type this I have popped my second pill and am starting to get on the mend. I must mention that while we were in Marree we got possibly the best pastie known to man at the servo and I had my first West End Draught at The Marree Hotel. I also bought my little Amy a present there. I wonder if she could guess what it is???

From Marree we started on the Oodnadatta Track we split up a bit – Den, John and Den were ahead while the other two trucks were behind. Tyre pressures back down, at least for the next 10 days. Yay! We stopped off for some photo opportunities at Lake Eyre South at a few different stops. We also pulled into a nice little spot called Coward Springs where we got out to have a look at the natural bore ‘spa’ and some of the history around the place. This bought back a few memories as Suz, me and the kids stayed there a couple of years ago.

Again we hit the track and we all managed to meet up while we were gathering wood for the night. We stopped at one last place before camp t have a look at Lake Eyre North and, bugger me, if we didn’t walk out to a high point and look down to see and hear a couple of people playing a trombone while dancing on the dried lake. Weird. But we did cheer them at the end of the song.

Tonight we are camped at Lake Eyre North. A great spot besides the flies. Bastards. We cooked an early dinner (including that cabbage and onion, Suz) and took to taking snaps around the place. Now we are around the fire and they have buggered off and back to talking rubbish. Happy days!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb