Goodbye to the Aussie 7


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
April 12th 2005
Published: September 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The Aussie 7The Aussie 7The Aussie 7

Our farewell dinner.
The night before my final departure from South Australia, we engaged in a game of South Australia Trivial Pursuit. To our dismay, team Ossian and Katie answered the first two questions correctly. In one hour 3 teams had actually managed to collect a total of 7 pie pieces. It's amazing how much we have learned-some of us more than others!

Saying goodbye to the Aussie 7 was even more difficult for me than exchanging farewells with TMC. Not only was I saying goodbye to my home in Adelaide and the experiences of my time there but I was also saying goodbye to six other amazing individuals. I never would have thought that all of us would have grown so close and gotten along so well (with very few "mishaps"--see list below). It was an experience of a lifetime and one of the absolute best decisions that I have ever made in my life-really.
Each and everyone of you have taught me more about relationships, myself and life on a deeper level...Things I cannot even begin to explain...
Doran-I will always remember to see the brighter
side of life, to be optimistic and thoughtful of others despite differences.
Sabina-You have been
Still crazy about The Simpsons here.Still crazy about The Simpsons here.Still crazy about The Simpsons here.

My goodbye gift from Katie and Sabina!
a reminder of all the different spiritual roads we travel in life. Our paths are unique to us alone. His grace is sufficient and His love is everlasting.
Katie- I love your outgoing spirit and sense
of humor. I don't know where I would be without someone giving me a hard time, never failing to make me smile or giggle. My heart is happy when you are near!
Ossian-Thanks for putting up with all of us girls. You managed us
well and I am glad you weren't shy about being our 1/2 roommate. You have taught me to "keep the faith" and to always hope for and trust in the best in others and circumstances. I will always see the "cuter" side of life.
Amber, I mean Amba-Where will I be without my roomie! There are so many things I will miss about you. You have taught me to take life easy, slow down and enjoy life to the fullest. I will miss your smile and late night excursion stories!
Kameron-I do not think that saying goodbye has ever been more difficult for me. You have challenged me spiritually and I am grateful that you entered into my life. You know that I think nothing but the very best of you. God has a plan, He connects us and may He keep you until our paths cross again.

Top 15 Aussie Mishaps and Rules to Live By

15. Know how to translate military time.(or you might miss a flight)
14. Apply sunscreen evenly.(or you get random sunburns)
13. Secure all objects before leaving cab.(could lose your wallet)
12. Stay home during the Clipsal!(drunken people at your doorstep)
11. There are crazy people everywhere!(internet stalkers)
10. Cheers to Aussie public transportation.(bus hit and run)
9. Don't cook under the influence.(it's a fire hazard)
8. Be on time.(or you could get left behind in Uluru)
7. Keep an eye on your cocktail.(or someone might slip in a substance)
6. Don't be shy.(and sleep on the doorstep)
5. Know your neighbors.(they may show up on your balcony)
4. Always have a buddy.(never walk home alone at night)
3. Watch for poles.(or you might encounter one)
2. Know where the toilet is.(or you could wander into someones bedroom by mistake)

and

1. Be a defensive pedistrian.(and avoid car accidents)

Cheers!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The city of AdelaideThe city of Adelaide
The city of Adelaide

My last view from the plane.


Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 86; dbt: 0.1126s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb