There is no hurry, fuss or worry, in Adelaide...Adelaide...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
April 5th 2006
Published: April 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mt Lofty Botanical Gardens...Mt Lofty Botanical Gardens...Mt Lofty Botanical Gardens...

It was so good to see the gardens like this, although every little noise made me jump...
Adelaide City, oh so pretty...it's like a country town, nothing like Melbourne or Sydney. Alot smaller and prettier 😊 I'm staying with friends up in the hills. Their house is beautiful surrounded by 10 acres of land...with sheep, dogs, cats, chickens...and 2 wonderful children who I've been playing 'heads down thumbs up' with 😊 The couple who I'm staying with have also put me on the insurance of their car, so I've had the freedom to drive and explore adelaide. They're so kind to do that for me...

The first day with the car I was quite nervous, as I hadn't driven in ages and had only really just passed my test...and the car is an automatic which I'm not used to either! Anyway, it was raining for the first day so I drove lots of signed scenic routes through Adelaide Hills and Tea Tree Gully and then went to have lunch in the city. By this time, the day looked like it was clearing up so I decided to drive to Mt Lofty. To get there you have to go through a tunnel, doing this there was a sign saying 'SLOW DOWN - FOG'. I only thought there was
Wine wine wine...Wine wine wine...Wine wine wine...

I'm so glad I finally like wine now, well white wine only, red is still vile. From malibu and coke in a can to a glass of wine...hmmm I'll have both...
going to be a slight fog, but I was wrong...I had to drive so slowly as I couldn't see anything! It was so bad! Eventually I found my way to Mt Lofty Botanical Gardens, where the fog was still just as bad...There was only one other car in the carpark and the atmosphere there was very eerie, what with the fog and unusual animal noises...I had a wander through the gardens but didn't want to venture too far as I could hardly see! The tall trees looked so nice against the fog, showing off their every detail on a greywhite background, I'm pretty glad the weather went that way now. I came back through Norton Summit, which is one long road descending with lots of twists and turns. The views from it were amazing though, as you could see right over the city...I had to be careful not to let my eyes wander too much though...got to get used to driving again rather than just being a passenger...

After getting some bearings of outer Adelaide I decided to explore the Barossa Valley. Alot of the towns round this way have German history as that's where the settlers were from.
Victoria Square...Victoria Square...Victoria Square...

This is where I had to catch the tram from, I really like trams actually. It's nice to be able to see where you want to get off at above the ground...
I couldn't believe how many vineyards there were wherever I drove. After driving past some guys picking the grapes I saw a Groovy Grape tour bus (they do tours from the city to Barossa Valley for $69) and decided to follow them, conducting my own little tour for free with their aid 😊 Followed them to some great lookouts and ended up at the official Jacobs Creek and listened in on their private tour. Unfortunately I didn't feel quite right to sneak in on their wine tasting so I went to Seppetts Winery for my own tour and wine tasting. I loved the Sparkling Salinger...mmm 😊 I could only have small sips though as I had to drive back of course...

At the weekend, Anne (who I'm staying with) took me and her little kids to the Whispering Wall. It's a big river dam where you can have one person one side, and another all the way on the other side and you can talk to each other perfectly. Just by speaking into the wall, even if you whisper hence the whispering wall title. It felt a bit strange though when I was on one side by myself as
So incredibly foggy...So incredibly foggy...So incredibly foggy...

I had to drive so slow through this fog, it was so strange how on one side of the tunnel it was perfectly fine, then once through it it was like this...
it looked like I was talking to myself, ahaha just like that man I met at the bus stop in Ballarat...

Took a visit to the seaside town of Glenelg using the vintage tram from the city. I really liked it there, slightly different to my local seaside town of sunny Southend-on-Sea ahaha...people were actually swimming in the clean sea and making good use of the pretty beach. There were heaps of shops and cafes, one where I stopped and had eggs florentine on english muffin with pine nuts and creamy parmesan sauce...mmm I want it again...

Oh yes and one final thing...Ben Folds did indeed used to live right here in Adelaide, making this place that little bit more special...ahahha...

Advertisement



13th April 2006

Hooray for ben folds!
looks amazing Lucy! Such a shame you wont be able to stay with Roger in Alice due to their trip over here! make sure you go and look in their Leaping Lizards Gallery tho! x
13th April 2006

SoS
hey luce, here i am working in sunny southend, looking at the pier right now thinking of you, in foggy OZ - lol only kidding id swap anyday......
13th April 2006

Scary or what!!!!
Im just so pleased that I read about the things you have done .....after the event! The thought of you driving in that fog! the mind boggles. I will have to remember what Lisa said about you after meeting you in Sidney, I quote "if Lucy was any more laid back she would be horizontal" Its amazing what you doing, hats off to you. Take care SAFE DRIVING!!!!! Love mum xxx
13th April 2006

Happy Easter Sis
Lucy my Darling Sis, hope you have agreat Easter, we are off to the Zoo tommorow, i'll let you know what goes on with the monkeys and Joshua etc...only Colchester Zoo mind you so unlikely to see wild flaming tazmanian deviling, stingray swimming cheese tasting, jelly fish wobbling, dead fish fly swarming animals......but you never know, our luck might be in!! Love u loads and kisses are sent from everyone!! mmmmmmmmmmmmwwwwwwwwwaaaaaaahhhhhhh xx PIB
14th April 2006

Sweet As
I really want to have a go on that whispering wall thing, sounds awesome. i would of whispered 'come on lucccy'..or 'can i get ya number baby?' haha..thats going to forever haunt you. Nice pictures to..especially the botanical gardens one. love them type of pictures. well im off on a 4 hour bush walk now! yay! (we love our bushwalks :D ) speak to you sooon! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
14th April 2006

beautiful
the botanical gardens look frickin' amazing. our ones in england barely look as good as that! impressive.
14th April 2006

happy easter honey!
phew only just come back down to earth! it was soo good to see you and be there to make your birthday special. Just been catching up on your journals - amazing! as always. Have a really happy easter - maybe celebrate with chocolate cheese-gross! Love you loads, think maybe I should pop back to see you just to make sure you are ok?....... Big hugs...L M Z M xxxx
14th April 2006

The Groovey Grape Tours
what a great way of saving $69 dollars who else would think to follow the Groovey Grape Tours bus , it sounds really cool like its off a Scooby Doo kids programme. lol,glad you love Adalaide and are enjoying staying with anne and steve, we did too.oh and lucy only you could manage to find fog and thick fog at that,while driving by yourself in a 5 litre commadore, not quite the same as the 1.3 fiesta you learnt to drive in. keep up the good work, love Deb

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb