I love the roaring ocean, especially the small moment of silence between each wave...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Great Ocean Road
April 1st 2006
Published: April 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The start of the most beautiful drive...The start of the most beautiful drive...The start of the most beautiful drive...

I can't believe I have now travelled this magnificent road, after so long imagining it and hearing such wonderful stories about it...
Never have I spent so much time looking out of a window...the great ocean road was simply stunning! The initial part of it had great weather, sun was in its full glory and the road is at its closest to the ocean. It was wonderful to look ahead at the coastline and know that that is where you will be in a moments time, you can really feel the shape of Australia's coast with all the twists and turns...fortunately I do not get travel sick!

After spending a night in Apollo Bay the next day the weather change was rather dramatic! So windy and sudden outbursts of heavy rain! At first I was annoyed at the weather, but then I realised that this was the best way to see nature at it's work on the limestone coast, waves crashing into the rocks with such force, I can now see how all the rock shapes are formed. Arriving near the Twelve Apostles I took a short helicopter ride which went all the way past them and back again. I'd never been in a helicopter before, I couldn't believe how smooth it was, thought it was going to be really shaky! The
The coastal road...The coastal road...The coastal road...

From this picture you can just make out the road. This was the first part of the Great Ocean Road where you are driving closest to the edge...
view from so high up was beautiful, and looking directly down into the ocean...mmm I loved it 😊 As the day went on the waves you could see were getting stronger and stronger, on one of our walks on the coast the colour contrast of the white water foam crashing onto black rocks looked amazing! So powerful...

Towards the end of my great ocean road trip we went through the Coorong National Park and had a guided bushtucker walk. Eating things like spicy leaves, long reeds to boost your health and learning what berries not to eat! The aboriginal who was our guide also made us lunch, including Coorong Flathead from the river we walked by and kangaroo balls...well kangaroo mincedmeat rolled into balls...oh yes, I forgot, we also went to another cheese factory!! woohoo! I loved it 😊 lots more unusual cheese tasting...this time including chocolate cheese! I also visited some more sand dunes. They wern't as impressive as the ones i went to in Tassie but still, I love running down them...



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The power of nature...The power of nature...
The power of nature...

I was so thrilled that the weather was like this, the sounds were also amazing...
Very very windy...Very very windy...
Very very windy...

View from the twelve apostle lookout and me looking slightly windswept...
Open wide...Open wide...
Open wide...

Taken at a restuarant, this was their pride and joy that I'm sure everyone gets a hold of...
I love it...I love it...
I love it...

I could stand at places like this and just watch for hours upon end, I truly love this...
So happy...So happy...
So happy...

I was so happy after travelling along the Great Ocean Road, When I return to Australia hopefully I will have my own set of wheels to take in this glorious stretch road...


11th April 2006

Sweeeeeeet As!
Hey Lucy! told you i would comment! :) Glad to here your still having fun! I remember standing were you are looking at the 12 apostles! except me laura and katie were being attacked by billions of flies. i'll give you another email sooooon, ive forgot the date your coming to Auckland so need to knooow! and i'll ask my dad to pick you up..if your lucky :P Sweet as! take care xxxxxxxxx p.s. mmmmm wine :D
11th April 2006

Great Ocean Road stunning chocolate cheese YUK
Really enjoyed this journal and pictures lucy , looking forward to the next one,Andy says the chocolate cheese sounds very interesting and that he missed out on that , Take Carexxxxx
11th April 2006

Yo!
Hey sis , nice to chat with you on the phone earlier... you are right the photos are great , but who is the token tour de france cyclist in one of the snaps..i think he is in the wrong country! Glad to hear you are still visiting cheese factorys, maybe you could offer them not choclate cheese, but toe jam cheese! MMMmmm nice as you havnt had a shower for a while! Look forward to the next blog, love you sis mmmmwwwaahhh xx PIB
11th April 2006

wow lucy, the pictures look amazing and you look so happy in them. Im glad you having such a wonderful time, so nice to see you in your photo's knowing you are still well and healthy. and chocolate cheese eh? wow sounds a bit strange to me! haha. speak to you soon, keep smiling and have fun xx xx
11th April 2006

Model !
Hi Lucy, it was lovely looking at your journal. Thought how well and attractive you look, must turn after me em! Glad you are fullfilling your dreams. Is there any old rich man for me ? if so bring one home in your rucksack for me. Carry on having a good time, your always remember this time of your life. Love you lots Nan J xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
12th April 2006

choirwood!
Loved the pictures, the one of you where its so windy, reminds me of a similar one of you in your choirwood jacket between a break in Joseph do you remember ah! Look forward to reading and seeing more pictures, take care love you mum xxx

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb