An abundance of wildlife on Kangaroo Island...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Kangaroo Island
April 10th 2006
Published: April 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Such posers...Such posers...Such posers...

Taken at seal bay, these sea lions loved to pose for the camera/sunbake their chests/sniff the surrounding air...in fact no one actually knows why they strike this familiar pose...
I decided to leave Anne and Steve's for a short while and go to Kangaroo Island on a two day camping tour. It was a very early 6:20am start when a small group of us left the city heading down the Fleurieu Peninsula to Cape Jervis, where we then boarded a ferry to take us to Kangaroo Island. The journey was very rocky, with one lady falling into everyone ahaha...

On our arrival the weather just kept getting better and better which was wonderful as back in Adelaide it had been quite dreary. We drove to Seal Bay where you can walk down onto the beach with a guide to where all the Australian Sea Lions are. These ones spend three solid days in the sea hunting for food, then 3 solid days sleeping and resting on the beach. The little pups were adorable and the bulls very intimidating, strutting about swinging their head side to side to show who's boss...

Visited some more sand dunes and actually got to do some sandboarding 😊 As on my Tasmania tour, they had banned it due to someone becoming paralysed on one of their tours doing it. Our tour guide brought
Sandboarding...Sandboarding...Sandboarding...

Lots of fun at the Little Sahara on Kangaroo Island, even though I never did it standing up...
along some furniture polish to really shine up the bottom of the boards to let us go super fast...haha it was so much fun even though I was too scared to go down standing up! It wasn't too good once you'd got to the bottom of the dune though, and turned around to see the sheer steepness that you now had to climb back up! Some of the guys spent so long trying to go down standing up the entire way, without a stack at the end...

Our accomodation for the night was a tiny little cottage in the middle of nowhere, where we could either sleep inside on the bunkbeds or outside in swags. I chose to sleep outside in preparation for my near expedition into the outback 😊 The cottage was surrounded by so much wildlife as well. We saw heaps of Kangaroos and Wallabies as well as a few Echidna which apparantly are quite rare to see. Before cooking our barbie we went to the beach and some of us (maybe the stupid ones as it was freezing) went into the sea to try some surfing. The waves were incredibly strong so I couldn't get my
The climb...The climb...The climb...

Not so much fun in this direction...
body wet gradually but had to feel the cold water instantly, which I suppose was better to get it over with quickly... As for the surfing...well I was really up for having a good go at it but when I was facing the beach, a gigantic wave went straight on top of me, taking me completely by suprise and holding me under for a bit. This scared me abit so I was now nervous to try surfing the waves, especially as they were getting stronger and stronger. I had one attempt and then decided I'd wait til I'm maybe on the east coast to try again...

That night it was back to the cottage for our barbie, with lots of kangaroo steak, mmm it was so tasty 😊 We all ended up sitting round the fire on logs and swags, toasting marshmallows on twigs, telling jokes, sharing abit about ourselves with the group and generally just having a really cosy enjoyable evening 😊

Our last day on the island, we went to the Remarkable Rocks along the coast and then on a long walk down Snake Lagoon. The weather wasn't too good on this day, and by the
Just before going surfing...Just before going surfing...Just before going surfing...

This sign was at our cottage, about Vivonne Bay, the beach where we went surfing...
time we were walking at the lagoon it was raining, making it alot harder to climb across all the slippery rocks. (Don't worry Nigel, I was wearing my hiking boots before you comment!) We ended up at a beach to eat our lunch, having to find shelter under some big overhanging rocks. The weather stayed this way for the rest of the day, causing the ferry back to the mainland to rock side to side with alot more force than there was on the way there. In fact it made me feel very sick, which is strange as I never feel sea sick...

After our mini feast of strawberry freddos I said goodbye to everyone in the city and met Anne who took me back to my lovely Adelaide home...



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Brown Snake...Brown Snake...
Brown Snake...

Yes, this one is poisonous...
Inside a Remarkable Rock...Inside a Remarkable Rock...
Inside a Remarkable Rock...

Part of the Remarkable Rocks, never before had I thought I'd be able to get inside a rock...


15th April 2006

great technique
lucy....you might make the olympics yet 2012!!....im off out shortly so gotta go! lov u sis xx mmwwaahhhh PIB
15th April 2006

hello ive only just realized how 2 view these travelblog things dan just told me hope ur havin the time of your life lol xxxxx
15th April 2006

If I was you !
After seeing the sign, and hearing about you trying to surf, yes I agree try it on the east coast.......or perhaps dont!!!!!!! Lucy how could you eat kangaroo steaks ..... poor things!!! Enjoy your next trip to the outback......come out of it safe though!!!! Love mum xxx
16th April 2006

hey surfer dude!
Fantastic pictures. Sounds like you had great fun (as always) I have to agree with mum about the kangaroo steaks...how could you!! I wont tell Zak and Madison you have been eating Skippy!! Take care on your outback trip, have loads of fun. Love you. M L Z M xxxx
18th April 2006

Scooge McDuck
It was realy good reading your last report.It sounds great what your getting up to. Is it cheaper sleeping outside? Love Dad
18th April 2006

POSTMANS LATE
I KEEP LOOKING AT MY MAIL ,STILL NO SIGN OF A BIRTHDAY CARD !!! PERHAPS THE POSTIE WILL BRING IT TOMORA ???

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb