On the road to Adelaide


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
January 15th 2006
Published: February 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I headed out of Melbourne and on to the beautifull Great Ocean Road, we went throgh stunning coastal towns and ended up watching the sunset over the 12 apostles with a few glasses of wine! The following morning, after viewing part of the 12 apostles including Loch Ard Gorge, London Bridge and Razor Back I decided the best place to view them was from the sky, so for $60 Aus I had an 8 minute trip in a helicopter - very good fun but boy did it go fast! After lunch we headed up into the Grampian hills to a place called Hall's Gap via the Ontos Sky Tree Walk and did a 6Km walk up to the Pinnacle Point - very stunning views at the top but boy was it hot!
The following day we did another scramble of a walk up a mountain called Hollow Mountain for more great views of the surroundings, that evening we arrived in Adelaide and I checked into the YHA along with Claire and Jane. The following morning we set off on a wine tour of the Barossa Valley visiting vineyards like Wolf Blass and Vine Crest and a whispering dam wall - there
This one is for the family!This one is for the family!This one is for the family!

Ali, Toossie I'm sure you'll giggle at this!
was an echo all the way along it. Very silly after a day on the booze and I had to go to bed early that evening!
I then had a few days to myself in Adelaide and headed down to the beach at Glenelg - 45c I spent most of my time in the sea, walked around Adelaide viewing the river, Botanical Gardens and in the evening I went to the Moonlight Cinema to see Breakfast at Tiffany's. Due to the heat in Southern Australia forest fires broke out in places around the Great Ocean Road, Jindaybyne and Halls Gap so I was very lucky that I travelled when I did! On the Sunday morning I had to get up and catch a bus to the airport for a 6.00am flight back to Sydney via Melbourne, having thought Adelaide was quite a sleepy town it turned out that at 4.30am there were lots of people just finishing clubbing.... Also, you could see the forest fires from the plane...



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

On the wine tourOn the wine tour
On the wine tour

This is with vet Ben at the Wolf Blass visitor centre - one for Mary Cooley and cousin Nat!


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb