Back in Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 23rd 2006
Published: February 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Poor Ed and Blythe, I arrived back at their's AGAIN for a few days whilst I managed to arrange to get my one box from the UK finally delivered to me - it only took 4.5 months, my god they were a shit company too!
After a few day's Jonny joined me from the UK - we met on my trip in India and I managed to persaude him to carry on travelling and come to NZ with me for a 6 week trip in a campervan (for those gossips amoungst you, yes I shall describe him as my boyfriend from here on!). I picked him up at the airport and we went to a Backpackers place that I had booked in Bondi - run by the Russian mafia - it was an absolute hovel (roaches and filthy bathrooms) - hmmm not a good location for someone who has just flown half way round the world to join you! We then met up with Cara and her fellow cooking friend/house mate Polly for lunch in a pub and a good chin wag about our parents travelling together in India in 2 weeks time and my old friend/her brother Guy getting engaged.

On the 26th Jan it was Australia Day, Jonny and I did lots of walking around Circular Quay, Darling Harbour, the Botanical Gardens and Government House, there were lots of bands playing in the streets, floatillas of ships in the harbour and the Aus red arrows flying above us. That afternoon, Jonny and I met up with Susie Scott at a friend of her's Tiffany's party where we bumped into a friend of Cara and Tom Pinsent called Charlie Corbett and also Edwina Walker - her mother and cousins went to West Heath! So it was all a very small world.

Edwina sweetly offered us her spare room so Jonny and I jumped at the chance and moved out of our Russian mafia hostel and into the luxury of a home! We then met up with an old work mate of Jonny's called Jo who had just arrived in Sydney to work for year. I dragged her and Jonny along the coastal walk from Bondi to Bronte beach whilst also going for a few swim's along the way. That evening Jo, Cara, Charlie, Polly, Jonny and I all went to a fabulous restaurant called the Lantern in Surrey hills - also small world it turned out that Charlie and Jo had sailing friends in common....

After that Jonny and I spent some time fabulous time on beaches with all our Sydney friends including meeting up with Ed and Blythe, a trip to the aquarium and a party in Double Bay. Jonny then left Sydney for Christchurch and I followed him a few days later for the start of our NZ adventure!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

EdwinaEdwina
Edwina

who was very good to us and let us stay
Jo and JonnyJo and Jonny
Jo and Jonny

on the start of our beach walk


Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb