end of July, 42nd day of captivity


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
July 25th 2008
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

g'day to you fellow european citizens,
I have just realised that it has been already a month and half since my departure and that I will be back in no time. gee. time flies when you having fun.
I have to admit it to the adelaide-rs, they do lead a very comfortable life. the town is very secure, very clean and there is tons of parks and green patches. they have a great beach 30 mins bus ride and on the opposite direction lush hills with plentiful of good food and wine.
and this is not it. one can buy for much less than a small tiny one bedroom flat in london the equivalent of a 3 bedroom, 2 living rooms, a bathroom (or two) and of course the obligatory laundry room. this is the standard. oh and a front and rear garden. then you have the ones that have spare roomS. just to keep stuff in it.
the amount of space the ozzies have is unthinkable for us. well for me anyway.

if peter was here I wouldn't mind staying for a year or so. they quality of living is just sooo much better.

so, tomorrow I shall go to sydney to see the town. there are so many things to do is unbelievable. well, they can all be done in a few days really. but for someone who only has 2 days it's quite a lot. and I want to do as much as possible, including going to see the zoo, walk around, markets, the opera, the bridge, whale watching, going to see Dark Knight on the Imax (it's suppose to be awesome!) and all the other things..

In the mean time I am also planning my following excursions and obviously my journey back to europe. stopping by sydney (again), maybe singapore, then Tokyo and Kyoto and finally back in London in mid october. surely completely broke and without a penny. but heck , as i am in this neck of the wood I am intending to make the most of it.

Next monday I will finally start playing volleyball again. yep indeed, after more than 10 years I will go -rather try and go- to a regular training session. One of my colleague here at work plays at a university campus near here and she kindly invited me along. the truth is that the gym really bores me to death (to the point that i will be canceling the membership early next week). so i need to do some other form of exercise.
she did tell me they were really good and that they play in some sort of league. obviously my assumption was that being adelaide and south australia ( which is effectively in the middle of nowhere), it was going to be some university kids just throwing a ball.
turned out - and i just found out- i was very much mistaken. we are talking serious professional A league volleyball. the contact number i have for the team is of this chap:
http://www.bringitusa.com/players/profile/andrewhunter/
holy shit. I've arranged to go and see them on monday for a play. I hope a) I won't embarass myself too much b) they won't laugh too hard c) and mostly that i wont break too many fingers like when i used to when i was younger.

I shall be posting on facebook more pictures next week at some point.
I hope you guys are having a nice hot summer. here is cold and cloudy. this is not july, it's bloody december!!

love and peace and koalas to you all
Giu

P.s.
TODAY IS THE 25TH OF JULY, THE 30TH BIRTHDAY OF MY BELOVED ONE: HAPPY BIRTHDAY PETER!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb