Saturday June June 7th Day 106


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
June 7th 2008
Published: June 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Finally the day has come! I woke up at 8:30, catching us on sleep a little bit. I got up, showered and started teh mission of getting rid all perishable foods by means of consumption. While eating I also went on the computer. I checked my mail, went on Facebook and finally researched getting a camera case that would allow me to take photose while scuba diving. It is still an option though they are quite expensive (180-220). After this is was about 9:30, check out was 10:00 so I got all the sheets off my bed and then the second trip I handed in my key and dragged up my bags. After checking out I headed downtown for the final time. I went to Peter Pans with plans of updating my travelblog with photos. Never did get around to that! From tehre I went back to Brisbane City Disposals where I baught all my work stuff when I arrived in Brisbane. I returned my work helmet which I never did end up using because AWX gave me a free one in the first day. In exchange I got myself a poncho which I could fit my backpack underneath incase it rains on the adventures we are getting ourselves into and also a good size bottle of bugspray which is supposed to be a necessity in the tropics up north. Once that was done I returned to the hostel and had lunch. During this time a French guy phoned me about buying my used helmet and my reflective vest. He ended up buying it off me for 10 bucks. Not a bad day so far, 10 bucks for returning my plates and cutlery, 10 bucks for returning my key, 25 dollar exchange for the work helmet and selling my used work equipment for ten. Once this was all done it was time to leave the hostel. I got all my food that I planned on bringing and stuffed it into my wheelie bag. Thank god I got that wheelie bag. All my bags were completly full and I didnt have any space for my raincoat. I threw on my raincoat, put my big hiking bag on my back, backpack on my front and rolled the wheelie bag out of the hostel and off to the transit centre. It was brutal wearing my raincoat as it was quite hot out and it was a lot of work moving all that stuff. I was sweating so much and my raincoat doesn't breathe at all. We finally made it to the transit centre about half an hour before our bus was supposed to leave and checked in. They weighted all my bags because there was a 20 kilo limit. My rolley bag ended up weighing 24 kilos, but they let it go through. My big backpack actually only weighed12 kilos even though it had all my clothes in it.

The bus ride to Noosa was short and uneventful It took just over 2 hours including 2 stops for passengers wishing to get out. We followed the coast most of the way though Noosa National Park got in the way the final 15-20 km. When we arrived the shuttle was already there waiting to pick us up. Our hostel was right on the water though it is the Noosa River. Every city on the coast seems to be situated where ever a river meets the water. Sydney, Brisbane and now Noosa have all been at the mouths of rivers. Once we were unpacked we made a trip to Woolies to pick up some groceries. Mike decided he would make a run to the liquor store. This was our first Dan Murphys we had been too. It is advertised claiming to have the lowest prices and it definatly does! Mike picked up a box of goon (cask wine which is 9.5% alc and is 4 litres) for $7.99 including tax. We went back to the hostel and made dinner before going into town. Our hostel is actually half an hour from Noosa Heads the main part of town in an area called Noosaville. Because of this we had to wait for the shuttle which runs every hour basically into and out of town. The town ended up being totally dead, nothing was happening. Because of this we walked to be beach where all the sand had been pulled into the ocean when there was that large storm last week. Locals told us that they had got 3.5 to four metre seas for a couple days and 50 cm of rain. That was basically the day. We had to walk back because the shuttle stops opperating about 8:00 and went to sleep around 11:30.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0873s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb