Friday June 6th-Day 105


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
June 6th 2008
Published: June 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I woke up at 5:50. I quickly had a shower and rushed to the labour hire agency. I wanted to be first in waiting because I had not found work all week. I arrived and no one was there. They also had breakfast already set up. I had 2 bowls of coco puffs again enjoying the free food. I sat around and no other workers showed up. I finished the paper and only had to wait about 5 minutes before Casey from AWX came down from the offices happy to see me. He knew it was my last day and told me how he had a good job for me today. Well the job was good, as I started at 7:15 (very early for this company) and finished at 3:00. A good seven hours and fifteen minutes of work and still enough of a night left that I can get some stuff done. The job was with a construction company. The job was to photograph and clean up messes that the sub contractors made. The reason that pictures were taken is because the construction company charges the sub contractors for me and my supervisor to clean up and the photos are proof of the mess. This took about two thirds of the shift. After lunch we cleaned up the front putting tonnes of junk in bins and moved cement blocks from the basement onto pallets in the front area. That took the rest of the shift. Was I ever happy to be done! No more work for the rest of the trip...hopefully. After work I walked to the train station which happened to be about 200 metres away. The train arrived less the five minutes after arriving at the station. Once I got back to town I want to AWX and handed in my time sheet. I arranged for them to mail some pay slips and the tax return information to the same post office in Cairns as the blood card. From there I went back to the hostel and did a load of laundry. While that was happening I checked my mail, Facebook and updated my blog. The rest of the night was mainly spent packing my bags. After 3 months of living in the same hostel it is as hard as it is packing for Australia!. It easily took me more then two hours and there was still a bit left after that because I needed some of the stuff in the morning. That was basically the rest of the night. I was very tired because of waking up early trying to get work all week so I went to sleep around 10:30.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.1887s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb