I hate titles


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Toowoomba
March 28th 2006
Published: March 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

StP1StP1StP1

Beginning the night on St. Patrick's Day. I had a glittery hat!!
There’s a lovely Japanese Gardens right by campus and the only time that I’ve been through it was when it was a handy shortcut to my friend’s house. This weekend we had absolutely perfect weather and I decided that it would be the perfect time to go on a nice little excursion to it. I’m writing this without the pictures on hand because my friend took them on his digital camera but I’m sure you’ll be able to see everything that I’m talking about when I do get them uploaded. You walk into the gardens and it is like you are immediately transported into a REAL Japanese Garden! Just a quick glance over your shoulder confirms that you obviously haven’t (or really, logic dictates that too…) because of the ugly buildings right behind. There were these red bridges arching stylishly over duck ponds and these cute pagodas strewn about. There were a lot of people all around which kind of spoiled the magic, but you can hardly blame them. We saw these two crazy spiders too. Stuck right among the bamboo was a humungous spider web. Yea, it was big, but that wasn’t what really caught my attention. The thread was
StP8StP8StP8

Really getting into the spirit of things! Fighting Irish!
yellow! It had never even crossed my mind that spider goo came in any other color than white. The other spider had a much less fascinating web, but it was obviously very effective. It had caught a yellow jacket and was ripping it apart and eating it! WOWZA! It was right under one of the knobs at the end of the bridge. I hope the picture turns out.

St. Patrick’s Day was a blast! The boys all get dressed up and painted there faces. Two of the guys my roomies hadn’t met before came in doing a jig and speaking in a completely convincing Irish accent which lead them to believe that they really were Irish. I already knew one of them (his name is Miles but I “cleverly” call him Kilometers… ha ha!) and knew he wasn’t Irish but what gave the “jig” up for the other was that he went by Seamus but he spelled it “Shamus.” I told him that was the plural of the Sea World Killer Whale Shamu, but he didn’t believe me. Ah well.

Thursday is a public holiday for the town horse races. The entire town just about gets all dressed
RoomiesRoomiesRoomies

These are my roomies. Jamie on the left is from Wisconsin and Kim on the right is frmo Cali!
up in really nice clothes and goes to watch the horse races. I’m still not sure if I’m going to go because it is a AU$15 ticket plus I don’t really have anything super classy. Kim and I joked about getting those really long silk gloves and those goofy “Pretty Woman” hats. Wednesday the girls and are going to go shopping. If I can find something reasonably cheap I might get it. I’ll probably end up going anyway because obviously if it is important enough to have a public holiday, than it is probably something I really need to do.

Only two more weeks until I get to go to Sydney and Melbourne and MAYBE! Just maybe!!! Scuba Diving in Cairns!! Wish me luck or send me money, lol.

I'll come back and add pics later, I didn't get the email I thought I would.

Advertisement



2nd April 2006

Green Glitter Derby Becomes You!
Begorra and don't your eyes look Irish, lassie! Who's the Paddy you're up close and personal with? Love the Fightin' Irish! Kilometers - too funny! Also love the account of the spider/yellow jacket violence! More blood! More guts! If it bleeds it leads!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb