Random update!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Toowoomba
March 20th 2006
Published: March 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello readers!

I've actually got a few messages from people and that's always encouraging. It is so much easier to do things when you know people are actually reading and/or expecting an update.

Nothing's really happened; I'm only updating so people don't think I've died or been abducted by some crazy kangaroo. I was poking about for a job and what I thought was the perfect job appeared...a polo trainer! Now, I don't know the slightest bit ab out Polo, but I know and love horses. The guy was really nice and actually came and picked me up for the interview. The interview was actually just me "getting" to ride a horse! It started off with me tacking up the horse and my pride swelled a bit because I got my horse bridled much faster than the guy's girlfriend. It's a good thing I had that bit of self confidence booster because I was about to leave the rest in a trail of rustled up dust and dreams....literally.

The ride began innocently enough. A nice meandering through the Aussie countryside with these crazy birds making probably the creepiest noise known to American-kind and this MASSIVE ant pile...I'd say a good 4.5 feet across with humungoid ants. If you could even call them ants. Leave it to Australia to have massive creepy crawlies. At least they've got koalas and other cuddlable creatures. Speaking of which, while we were walking into the sunset we saw some wallabies!!! How cute were they!? Well, you don't know cuz you weren't there, but I can tell you that they were excessively cute. It was the trotting that began my downfall. I didn't have my riding boots, so I was borrowing some from the guy and they were HUGE on me, which is a rather new and interesting sensation for me being as my feet could be their own country in their own right... So I can't really get a comfortable way to post because my feet kept slipping out and the horses were very young and hadn't really got a good gait to begin with cuz they kept switching it up. The two most horirble moments were when my horse tried to run up into the other horse and got a nice kick in the face for his efforts. He rears up and my feet slipped out of the stirrups (Stupid shoes ::grumble grumble:😊 and I cling on with my knees. How sad that that told my horse GO FAST! Sooooo...he takes off at a wild canter and I'm trying not to ride it (you know, the most comfortable and safest way to ride a canter) so as not to encourage the little bugger...man. It was just...man. But because I couldn't post that was making the horses want to canter because that's how they were trained. It would've been nice if the guy told that to me maybe but...::shrug:: C'est le vie. After about 45 minutes of massive amounts of jostling and me almosy falling off the guy and I both say that maybe this isn't the right job for me. HE drove me home and apologized that it didn't work out and said I could come back and ride one of the tamer horses if I wanted, and he was sorry if I had an awful time. I made it clear that I had fun cuz I got a free hour and a half ride, in the sunset and saw 6 wallabies! And I got to have a wild ride. Yea, it was a blow to the self esteem that I couldn't handle green polo ponies which are obviously much more difficult to deal with than green camp horsies...but he said he was impressed that I kept my composure the entire time and that I didn't fall off. Hey, if there's one thing I know how to do, it's keeping the pain to a minimum and keep my seat, hee hee.

Only other major thing going on is that I'm trying to arrange a scuba trip. Found a decently priced 3 day liveaboard in Cairns and one of my roommates and I might make that happen. That would be at the end of Spring Break right when I'm coming back from Melbourne. Hey, I'm already at the airport, why not hop aboard another plane and get some diving in!!

School doesn't really have anything to report. I'm waiting for my first class of my third week to start so really nothings happened in school that could possibly be of any interest to anyone--even me, lol.

G'Day!

Advertisement



20th March 2006

:(
sorry the horse thing didnt work out like you wanted, it would have maybe been better if you had been around horses for the past few years, or more interaction, but totally cool with the riding and staying on, and the wallabies. even maybe a stable job or something so you could have the interaction with the horses? but im sure there are alot more fun jobs than cleaning up poo. aussieland is one of the scary creepy crawly places with scorpions and stuff we dont have here... especially the mondo ants. hope everythign else is going well. so weird with you being across the world... :( ttys Karie
2nd April 2006

Polo Ponies = Jackhammers
Didn't I tell you I used to be a polo exercise boy? They ride like jackhammers. They are trained to stop and turn on a dime. A sweet and easy ride doesn't factor into it. Good for you for keeping your butt in the saddle. And way cool that your takeaway was that it was a fun and unique ride. I just fed Midori a carpenter ant today and he couldn't eat it cuz it was so crunchy. What would he say to the Teenage Mutant Ninja Ants of Oz?

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb