A real entry!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
March 10th 2006
Published: March 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Toowoomba is really shaping up to be not so bad. I’ve really made a lot of new friends and finally some Aussies! (even a few Kiwi’s…Australia’s “special” cousins of New Zealand, lol…we don’t talk about them). I met this guy named Cameron from New South Wales and his brother’s name is Rhys…which I dunno if you know, but that’s one of my fave Celtic names…and from “new south wales” too…which is slightly ironic, I think.

Before coming to Australia I didn't think that I would experience culture shock (or much, really) because our countries are so similar and they speak our language. However, I say "speak our language" very loosely because sometimes you do wonder... I arrived and was blown out of the water how different it was. I had been sick the week before I left so it probably made my experience that much worse, but I was absolutely floored by how expensive everything is and how spoiled I as an American am to certain things: cheap products, stores staying open past 4pm and having a car. I think in doses all these things would've been easily accepted but just chucked right in has made it quite an experience. It'll also be pretty difficult finding a job because there isn't anything close to my school and the buses stop running at 6. I miss my Prius!

Last weekend I went to Brisbane with some friends for the moderate fare of AU$30 or US$22.50. We wandered about Brisbane’s South Bank and it was beautiful. The Brisbane River winds thru the city and they have these metal arches all throughout the winding paths with these gorgeous purple flowers just cascading down. There are also these crazy ibis…es? Ibi? Ibisies? Lol…whatever…more than one Ibis just prowling about on their crazy chopstick legs. I saw one get within about a foot of this baby to nab a meal. There are tons of trees (really old ones too with lots of foliage) lining these pathways. We stumbled upon this peace pagoda that was recently erected and it was absolutely gorgeous. You’re just walking along and all of a sudden there is a break in the dense trees and you glimpse this exquisite piece of artistry chucked right there amidst all the greenery. There was a pond beside it and it was soooo peaceful. There was a jet inside of it that caused the water to swirl about. It was really cool cuz the center point didn’t move at all and the outer part of the pool moved much faster than the inward bit which reminded me of my upcoming Astrophysics class. We also saw this crazy water dragon (lizard sorta thing) and I was tooling around with it and this piece of a fern or something and poking and stroking it. He was a saucy little guy!

We also went to an art show to see my new friend Randal Fedje’s work. Isn’t that an awesome last name? Well, he does ceramics and he’s from Canada. He invited me and this German named Jelena and he made us Pirogis which were intensely good. I’ll have to post the recipe because they were awesome. His exhibit was a place setting…and written on all of the plates, cups and saucers were phrases. Stuff like, “I don’t have the inclination to explore” and something about having to say goodbye to your dear. I can’t really remember but I have pictures! That art show put me in a really metaphorical frame of mind and when we were walking back to the train station and I looked up at the clouds… they were really densely packed rain clouds, and they were moving really fast but you could see this window of blue sky beyond it. So I said, “How like life…it may seem horrible and hopeless (they were really intense black clouds), but beyond it all there’s good (a look at the gorgeous blue sky beyond.” I’m sooooo "emo"tional, lol.

Well, school finally starts up tomorrow. That’ll be a good time. Usher in some new friends and give some sort of purpose to my life. It’s mostly just been lazing about and watching copious amounts of movies. As soon as school starts I can also get a job which will be really great. Kiiiiiinda feeling the financial strain. No matter how broke I get I think that it will all be worth it. Mastercard tells me my memories are priceless!

Well, that’s it for now. I’m trying to get internet in my room and then I can be on AIM and write on here and stuff more. For now…who knows…who knows.

I miss everybody so much!


OH! It's really funny because the way the Australians talk always sounds like they're asking a question because of the way they put the emphasis on their voice. I was asking this lady for directions to Kmart and she was like: You go to the end of the street? And take a right?

I kind of blinked and was like..."Lady! I don't know! You're the one giving the directions!"

It's weird cuz I've actually already picked that habit up, hee hee.


Advertisement



11th March 2006

n/a
hey carly- i hope all is well down under!! ha!! i would LOVE to be there !!! have fun and be save--- try and smuggle me a koala or a roo ok?! much love, em
13th March 2006

Great blog!
Wow! Very evocative! I can really feel I'm with you there! Loved the descriptions of the ibi and the water dragon. Pretty freaky! Nice allusional references to the sky. Keep posting!
15th March 2006

Excellent writer. Enjoy my experience through you.

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb