One down, one to go


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Taroom
November 14th 2011
Published: November 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We've returned to Taroom, so that I can sit my end of semester exams for uni. I miss the weir, I'd happily return to bathing in cold water in the great outdoors to be back at the weir. It was just easier. The dogs didn't bark as much and could have freedom, Noah could have a bit more freedom and it was just tranquil.

The packing up / setting up process seems to be becoming more fine tuned and we all seem less stressed by the end of it. Saturdays move didn't result in a tantrum throwing toddler, even though he only managed about 45mins of sleep for the entire day! Oh how I miss the days of two sleeps.

Sunday dawned and marked the 1st year of wedded bliss. I was unprepared and skipped out early (using the dogs needing a walk as an excuse) in the hope of picking up a card and something paper oriented (traditional first anniversary gift) to give Ryan. At this stage Ryan had not remembered it was our anniversary. Well, country town times were determined to bring my plan undone... who would have thought the newsagent wouldn't open till 9am on Sunday... and I returned to the caravan empty handed, but I did have an encounter of the kinda close kind to report.

After letting the dogs cool off in the river, we headed back along the bush track for the caravan park... nicer walk than the street and no fear of being rushed by loose dogs... we were nearly back when I noticed a cat on the path about 30m away. I figured once it caught sight / scent of us it would high tail it away from the dogs, which it did, only to reveal that it had been toying with a very very large snake and from my vantage point (still about 20m away) it didn't look happy. There was no way we were going past via the path and the dogs wouldn't have survived a trip back to town to go via the road, so we took the only option left... off road onto the dry creek bed and following the unofficial track. I carried a very big stick and was looking everywhere for nasties.

Ryan had remembered the anniversary by the time I returned... Mum had sent us a text wishing us a happy anniversary.

Today I sat my first exam, ANIM2011 - Animal Physiology. Hard, but manageable. With luck I will pass and gain a pass for the subject. Oh the joys of having to wait until December. One more exam to go on Wednesday.

This afternoon I thought I'd take Noah and the dogs down to the river crossing close to the caravan park. Only to be advised by the family camping nearby that their teenage sons had seen a big tiger snake down there in the morning. We went down anyway and it was all clear, but still had me on alert and pretty jumpy... I wouldn't let the dogs leads go as I didn't want them to wander upon the snake.

I think I need to read up on snakes and how to react if you come across one and the correct / current method for dealing with a snake bite.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb