Low on water, so back to Taroom we go


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Taroom
November 11th 2011
Published: November 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Isla GorgeIsla GorgeIsla Gorge

Noah and I
Wow, it's Friday already, how time flies when your relaxing with nothing to do.

Wednesday I had my first go at the Hobie kayak. What great fun! Instead of paddling (which you can do if you choose) you peddle and the fins underneath the kayak push you along. I gave fishing a shot and while I didn't fall in, I did manage to jam the reel with the line and put an end to my fishing efforts after about 5 casts.

After 4 days of enjoying the weir to ourselves, another caravan rocked up on Thursday afternoon. This has annoyed the dogs no end, as they are now confined to their pen unless on lead... even more annoying for them is that 2 dogs turned up with them. It has also put a stop to us 'showering' outside... which doesn't bother me one bit.

Today is my birthday... one year closer to 30.

It has been a lovely day, starting with presents and pancakes (cooked by Ryan). We watched another couple in a caravan arrive in the morning... Noah takes being a sticky-beak to the extreme by sitting on the table and nearly pushing the flyscreen out of the window with his head. Leaving the dogs to 'protect' the van we went for a drive to Theodore and picked up some wine and cake to celebrate my birthday.

On the way back we stopped at the Isla Gorge National Park lookout. It is amazing that the area surrounding is grazing land with rolling hills and then you travel 1 and a bit kms off the highway and find yourself overlooking sandstone gorges and steep drop-offs. There are no walking tracks in the park, so we jumped in the car and returned to the weir.

I don't normally like my birthday, but this one has been wonderful. Even smacking my nose on the awning arm this morning (it is now bruised) couldn't spoil the special feeling this day has had.

We're down to our last third of fresh water and we're being drowned by dirty clothes, so tomorrow we'll head back into Taroom and maybe we'll come back here for a few days before we head to Roma mid-next week.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Isla GorgeIsla Gorge
Isla Gorge

Warning sign


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb