Final days in Taroom


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Taroom
November 16th 2011
Published: November 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This stay in Taroom has resulted in our first exchange of details with other people…. I feel accepted into the nomad lifestyle… people want to keep in contact with us! Go team!

Ryan had to hand out a business card, so I think I might get some cards done with our contact details… I think you can get free ones from Snap Printing, something else to put on my must be done list.

When we arrived in Taroom this time there was a family camping under a big tree in the park. I happened to speak to the dad that night, as he wanted to warn us about a broken cattle grid on a local road, because it had blown a tyre on their trailer. I spoke to him and the rest of his family (wife and 2 sons) the following afternoon on my way down to let the dogs cool off in the creek.

Like us they are looking for a tree-change and I was interested to hear about their home schooling experience, their eldest son finishes high school this year. They were a lovely family and it was a welcome change to have some adult conversation that wasn’t Ryan and I ☺ They live in a way that I see us embracing when we finally settle on a block of land somewhere.

For our last night in Taroom we headed up to the bowls club for dinner. It was a nice enough meal, we were both bad and got chips & gravy over the salad / veg option. As we were leaving early in the morning, we started packing up when we got back to the van and guess what Ryan heard while he was outside packing stuff away…. an echidna!!! For a spiky creature they are so adorable. It was putting in a big effort to burrow into the bark to escape us. They are much bigger than I expected and they have a spiky tail.

Ryan’s got work in Roma that starts Monday, so we’ll free camp our way there. Hopefully we arrive Saturday morning and can head up to the farmers market, but we’ll see.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0728s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb