A few days in Wandoan


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Taroom
October 31st 2011
Published: October 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

It's hot. Ryan tells me it is only going to get hotter... which is fine if we're in places where we can hook into power and run the air con, but it's going to rather horrid if we're free camping.

I didn't get to do any exploring of Wandoan. The mornings have been spent washing (finally finished it all today) and the middle of the day is far to hot to be wandering around in.

We went on a trip yesterday to check out a campsite about 50kms north of Taroom (a town around 55kms north of Wandoan). After our effort in Bell, we wanted to be sure that there was internet coverage. It is a lovely lovely spot and we are moving on there next week... it is beside the Glebe Weir and for $7.00 a night we get a toilet block and electricity. Unfortunately there is no drinkable water, but we will deal with that.

Today I decided to wash my hair and was even hoping to shave the forest that has replaced my legs. Well wasn't that a bad idea! There is little hot water in the shower block and it was a very quick shower... though I did wash my hair, I still have very hairy legs.

The stinky dogs had a wash today. Neither of them enjoyed it, but at least they won't make the car smell as bad tomorrow.

Noah has been spending heaps of time outside and has a few scratches and bruises from falling over and such. Today he added a decent scratch to his cheek, he walked into a broken branch on a tree near the caravan. He's turning into such a little boy.

I think I'm as packed as I can be tonight, ready for final pack up and move on tomorrow. We're going to spend a few days at the Taroom caravan park, stock up on food and water and head on out to Glebe Weir.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0226s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1010kb