Sunshine Coast? Yeah. Right.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Sunshine Coast
March 8th 2010
Published: March 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Fish n ChipsFish n ChipsFish n Chips

The remnants of my amazing meal. I should have taken a picture of it when we first got it--the fish was HUGE! But alas, I didn't want to make you all jealous of my cuisine.
Not a whole lot has been going on...it's just been raining non-stop. Yesterday was the first semi-sunny day we'd had in a week! It poured for about 3 days straight without stopping, and then rained on and off until yesterday. I guess this is the most rain Queensland has had in ages! Some towns are flooding, but thankfully not here. Which is good, because I left Fargo so that I wouldn't have to deal with that this year!

You're probably asking yourself, "What is there to do in Australia when it rains?". The answer to that question is simple. NOTHING. At Concordia, I had two jobs and more homework than I could handle, so rain or shine I was always busy. Here? Not so much. I planned on sitting by the pool most days, but that's kind of hard to do when it's pouring.

Ashley and I watch a lot of Gossip Girl here. One of our friends has the first two seasons, and then another girl has the third season on her computer. When we're bored, we watch Gossip Girl. When we're done with that, I'm not sure how we'll occupy ourselves during the rain.

We really don't have that much homework. I only have final exams in two of my classes, and in each class you really only have about four homework assignments for the entire semester.

My classes:

Public Relations Strategies and Tactics
Advertising: Copy and Image
Digital Photographic Practice
Science Research Methods (basic statistics class)

To say we've had it easy so far would be a vast understatement.

I had my first taste of authentic fish n chips this weekend...it was so good! It was cod and flavored chips (french fries) and I loved it. Which is surprising because I haven't had fish in about...10 years? To quote my mom, "tastes change".

I also had what's called a sausage roll last night after we left O'Malley's (karaoke bar). That was pretty sweet too! Seems standard, I know, but I don't try new foods often. Ask anyone. Oh and BEFORE O'Mals, I got to go visit my native Aussie friend Sauce's house (his real name is Brendan) and see what Aussie houses look like! Sad to say that it's pretty much like any other house--nothing inherently Australian about it. Just like I'm sure there's nothing inherently American about our house (except for the American flag). It was a really nice house though, and they have a pool (like so many other Aussies) and a cat and a bird. First animal I've petted while here! I definitely miss my dog 😞

Not too much going on this week I don't think, but Ash n I might go home with Nakita this weekend and possibly, hopefully, I'm praying get to horseback ride! If we don't go with Nakita, we rally want to plan some kind of adventure, because being cooped up is driving me nuts!

More good stories:

-Ashley and I met a lady at the grocery store while picking out barbeque sauce. She told us straight away that she's got a "blue card" (basically means she's not a pedophile and is safe to be around children--I think she teaches dance) and told us all about the area, her family, and invited us to call her up and stay in touch. She was so nice! Oh, and no big deal or anything, but her husband's cousin is Wolfgang Puck. That's what she told us anyway. You never know...could be true!

-I had to take pictures for class on campus yesterday and some idiot tried to pet a kangaroo and according to Ashley (I wasn't looking at this point), the kangaroo kicked him and ran away! Hahaha that's what you get for touching the animals. Our campus is on a wildlife reserve and they told us to kinda just let the animals be. Some people never listen.


Advertisement



8th March 2010

Tastes change?
Well, I am so glad that you tried the fish. When I was in college I tried baby squid and East Indian food with lots of curry. It is fun to explore the taste buds. Do they get lots of worms on the sidewalk like here when it rains? Did you bring an umbrella? How are the rainbows?

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb