Random Stories


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Sunshine Coast
February 27th 2010
Published: February 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have a few random, but great, stories that I forgot to mention!

The first day we were here, we headed to the pool after our long Woolies adventure. After the pool, I decided it was a good idea to throw my towel over my closet door to let it dry. Turns out, that was a terrible idea. I had completely forgotten about the proximity of the ceiling fan to the closet door, and I whacked my hand against the fan!

It immediately started dripping blood (no exaggeration), and I ran to Ashleys. I freaked out once there, and that happened to be the first time meeting her roommates friend Shelly, as well as Ashley's other roommate Aleks (I found out last night that the next day, he asked if the "hysterical American" was around).

After running it in water, it truly did look like bone (nope...just mangled skin). It bled for two days. Sorry if you're weak around blood, but it was quite the experience on my first day!

My next story isn't really a story. Just a fact. While we were doing orientation, it was super wet and rainy outside. While talking to a guy about skydiving, we heard a few loud splashes. Ash n I turned around to see 2 VERY LARGE kangaroo's about 5 feet away, and a baby kanga in the middle! They were falling all over the slippery red bricks right in the middle of campus! The guy we were talking to said, "I've been here for 16 years and I've never seen anything like that! You're here for 5 days and look what happens...". It was crazy!

My last story isn't really a story either. I'd just like to let you all know that they really do call Americans "Yanks" here. Our bus driver asked us if we were Yanks or Canadians today, and when we got off the bus said, "Toodle-oo, Yankee-doodles!"

Advertisement



31st March 2010

Lol I throughly enjoy your stories! Why Yanks?

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.136s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb