Roommates and Moldy Food


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Sunshine Coast
February 25th 2010
Published: February 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Woolworth's Home Brand :)Woolworth's Home Brand :)Woolworth's Home Brand :)

The best snack food I've found so far, other than Tim Tams!
Hi again 😊

Not too much has happened since my last update, except that I have now been to all of my classes. So, not very exciting. However, I now know all of my roommates!

Sarah: An Aussie from Brisbane who was here for two days before I finally met her. She seems really nice so far 😊

Fanny: She's from France and we haven't really talked a whole lot yet, as I feel a lot of our conversations have been lost in translation.

Rudi: The super nice German boy right across the hall from me. He's extremely funny and very talkative.

I lucked out and basically got really nice roommates (even though we don't really talk a whole lot yet). I am a surrogate roommate to Ashley's apartment, and I love her two roommates Aleks (from Norway) and Nakita (from Australia). They're still waiting on an Aussie boy.

Alright, so you're probably wondering about the moldy food. WELL. Before any of us moved in, a girl named Tia (I think...) had lived here for two years. When I first got here, she informed that she'd be moving out before the new semester (I think she's done with school).

Rewind to two days before I met Tia, when I first moved in and brought my massive load of food home from Woolies (Woolworths...a grocery store that rips you off. Cole's at the mall is much better and has much more selection!!). I was reduced to one small cupboard, and haphazardly throwing my food anywhere it would fit in the fridge. Good thing I didn't buy any frozen goods either, because the freezer had no room in it. I more or less assumed that the food was Tia and Fanny's, as Fanny had moved in a few weeks ago. I didn't say anything about it and let it be.

Tia moved out last Wednesday, and the food remained. Sarah moved in Monday or Tuesday, and we all finally addressed the food situation. First, we went through the freezer to unload a bit of stuff. It turns out, NONE of it was mine, Fanny's, Rudi's, or Sarah's! This girl who had moved out left all of her food in there, including (but not limited to):

-Opened and frostbitten meat items (about 8 of those)
-Opened and barely consumed frozen vegetables
-Frostbitten mint chocolate-chip ice cream
-Other random food that was old

We filled an entire garbage bag with that, and moved on to the fridge where the damage wasn't too bad, but there were still a lot of half-opened bags and nasty old food.

MOVING ON. We next decided to go to the HUGE cupboard. None of us had ANY food in there, yet the entire thing was full! Tia apparently didn't want any of her food:

-One bag of very rotten, slimy, smelly potatoes
-Two other bags of potatoes
-Opened jars of random spreads
-Crusty tortillas
-Spices
-Tea and coffee
-SO MUCH OTHER RANDOM CRAP

It was disgusting in there and smelled like dead animal! A lot of it wasn't salvageable, and we ended up throwing out three very full and very smelly garbage bags. What an experience!

The best present she left us? Two full unopened bottles of wine, two half full bottles of wine, and three full beers.

Other than that, I think Ashley and I are seeking out our first authentic Australian "fish n' chips" this weekend, looking to book flights to Cairns to scuba dive and Fiji or New Zealand to chill during spring break, and I'm sure we'll go out at some point too. I'll update you more on my amazing vacation next week!

Advertisement



25th February 2010

Some surprizes are nasty!
Well, I noticed that you did come out ahead on this one...or was the wine and beer payment in full for the smelly duty you had to perform? What a funny story!
31st March 2010

So you don't live with ash? You have a boy that lives with you?

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb