Chilling out in Port Douglas


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Port Douglas
October 3rd 2012
Published: October 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well we are really chilling out in our little cottage in Port Douglas. Had to do the boring stuff yesterday such as washing and ironing. Mind you we have not seen a washing machine for weeks so it was great being able to really clean our clothes instead of having to hand wash them only.

We have also booked a few things for the rest of this week. We are off to the world heritage site of Daintree Rainforest tomorrow so it is going to be a real early start for us of 07.30 - not used to this since we have been in Port Douglas I have been rocking out of bed at around 10ish - plus heaven on earth had a cup of rosie lee (that's tea if you do not understand cockney!) in bed - luxury or what.

We have also booked our first couple of trips on the greyhound bus so Monday we are off to Townsville and then a ferry to Magnetic Island where we will be back to basics and staying in a tent for a few days. Told you it is from luxury to basics within seconds.

It is raining here
The SeaThe SeaThe Sea

A quick walk before the rain came down!
today so feel like back in good old Blighty - mind you saying that it might be cheaper for me to fly home and get my hair cut and coloured cause in Oz land it is going to cost me at least double what I pay at home. However, I think I am going to have to bite the bullet and pay the dosh as not had hair cut for over 14 weeks. I have cut my own fringe since then but with a pair of nail scissors you can imagine the damage I have done, ha ha

Mike turned the TV on this morning and guess what was on Coronation Street and the episode was new years eve 2004 - Mr Baldwin was on, blast from the past or what!!

Just sent two parcels home with souvernirs OMG I am definately not buying anything else, mind you at least my bag should be a lot lighter now. Just been to the Tin Shed which it appears is the locals secret and the beer is cheap just had my first oysters since being in Oz and they were brilliant - everytime I have them I think of the oyster bar in Central Station, New York.

Well just went for a walk along the beach and the heavens opened so back at the cottage now soaking wet. Cannot wait for tomorrow when we go to the Rainforrest at least if it rains tomorrow I will be prepared.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.267s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb