Crickey !!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Noosa Heads
March 21st 2010
Published: March 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Crickey mate it must be Steve Irwin Zoo day !!!!!!

It was pouring with rain so I bought one of those ever so attractive see thru poncho's and off I went 😊 Obviously steve is very highly respected here in Queensland, They have even re-named the hightway after him.

Fist critter I saw was a lizard, gorgous little thing about 18 inches long with a lovely soft underbelly and leathery top. Had a cuddle with him then it was Possom time. They are like a cross between a bear and a pig !!! very cute but I only looked didnt cuddle this time. There was a Tortoise show that was very good, they can live up to 200 years old so this was only a teenager at 70 !! their shell is made out of the same substance as our nails and when the guy rubbed his back it feels thourgh it and started to get all animated ..... well as animated as a tortoise can get !!!

Then I saw my second Koala ..... aaahhh ..... so cute 😊 I petted it and had my pic taken, but agian no cuddling allowed today 😞 i'll catch up with more at Magnetic Island. Then it was time for a Kangaroo experience this time I did get to pet them as well as hand feeding them, I couldnt help but sing quietly "Skippy Skippy, Skippy the bush kangaroo" they seemed to like it !!! so lots of hopping and bouncing along. There was a few asleep and they looked dead funny - picture this ....... adult kangaroo laying flat on his back asleep, legs akimbo, with his arms crossed over his chest !!!! god it looked sooo funny !!!

Then there were the snakes of couse lots of venimous and non venimous ones to gawp at, and listen to the kids around me chatter on "would this one kill you if it bit you dad ? " was the most commonly asked question I heard !!!

Crock show was really good but I thought it would last a bit longer (Yes I can hear you all laughing !!!) but big crocks, and I learnt that your reasonably safe on land as a human can outrun a crock, but never ever go into water with one as your dead, they can swim about 10 times as faster than an Olympic swimmer !!! so take note.

There was a tiger show that was pretty cool, they were in an enclosure that had a big swimming pool in it - so trainer and tiger were swimming together, amazing creatures and HUGE !!!

Home now to check under my bed for snakes and creepy crawlies 😊

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



30th March 2010

Wooooweeeeee You can't believe how jealous I am.... Steve was awesome! and I bet the zoo was just as fab! Was Bindi or Wes (Steve's best mate) there?? How cool that you saw crocs and stroked kanga's! love it! I have a brill visual image in my head of you walking around in your 'oh so cool' Poncho! haha, I bet you blended in and no one would have guesed that you were a tourist! heehe. Its always so good to hear your updates, it's like I am speaking to you everyday. Grandma send mountains of love, and is possible the proudest mum on earth (other than yourself obviousy.....what can I say?! haha). Vicki's coming round for tea tomorrow night and we are shopping online for baby bits n peices- I'm getting her a mattress for the crib which we've measured and going to look and nursery furniture too. Kepp having the time of your life. Lots of love and miss you loads. Mrs Joanne Foster xxxx

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb