Airlie Beach - Magnetic Island


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Magnetic Island
April 23rd 2007
Published: April 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Got up early and checked out. Feeling cream Cracked and started to wish I hadnt had that litre of goon last night.

Caught the greyhound and started to make our way to Townsville. The bus stopped at 10:20 for an hour long lunch break. Being rediculesly early for lunch I bought a paper and a packet of crisps.

We were on our way again.

We reached Townsville Station/Ferry terminal at 1:45. Despite most people telling me to stay clear of it ai actually thought Townsville looked quite nice.

Caught my Free ferry ride (part of the pakage deal id gotten for staying a couple of nights) and made my way over to Magnetic Island.
on the approuch Magnetic Island looked really nice and at the moment there seems to be a lot of condo/resort develoment going on. I was to be staying on the other side of the island in Arcadia which is a little more basic. In fact it looked to me a little like how i imagined Thailand to be like. Small simple holiday resort bungalows near a palm covered beach seperated by a small road used by tourists and their scooters.

Checked into my hostel. Got lots of free crap and discounts for dinner. Then headed to the beach opposite. Lay on the beach and fell asleep. Was awoken when the sun went down and it started to get cold.

Went back to the hostel and had my free Dinner. aan excellet bangers and mash with gravey and lots of veg.

Went to the sports bar and watched rugby with a beer. They seem to have a lot more Rugby League here then union. In fact i havent seen any Union since I've been here.

The Hostel complex was dead, not sure where everyone was.

Went back to my dorm and met two hippi german girls "smoking" on the terrace outside. Joined them but stuck to my beer. One girl was very sweet despite having more metal bits attached to her body then a tank. The other reminded me of a female version of Jay from Jay and Silent Bob. Looked just like him and just like Jay she could start or finish a sentence without the words weed or grass being somehow incorperated into it.

The large slightly insociable group of people, who dominated the dorm(from Manchester), came back and went to bed. So did the two german girls. And after reading for about 5min so did I.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1020.5kb