Werna Station


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Longreach
July 11th 2008
Published: July 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well this will be my last entry from Werna Station as I leave tomorrow to head South to Goondiwindi and another Cattle Station although considerably smaller!!

What have I been up to since the 'Killing'. Well we left the meat to hang for and couple of days and in the meantime mustered in a group of calves to brand, tag, castrate and de-horn (I have to say out of all of the things I've seen since being on the station de-horning is probably the one thing I don't want to see again!! It looks so painful!)

I'm happy to say the only thing I got involved in was the branding! I have to add though I wouldn't want this done to me either!! lol

We drafted in and branded etc about thirty calves. The nicest bit of the day was letting them back in with their mum's so they could get a bit of comfort. Some of the cow's are aptly named though as they didn't seem to bothered that their calves had just been burnt, cut and injected!!! They were probably saying something like with been there!!

After the branding it was back to the meat. We had to cut, mince and bag ready to be freezed! We also made Sausages, 170 kilo's to be precise! All I can say is that's a lot of sausages. Before I knew it it was my turn to tie them! It's quite an art and I thought I'd cock it up but in fact I did alright. It's just remembering when to twist and squeeze etc!! I'm chuffed to say they all ended up being about the same size.

Having now seen 4 cows be killed and chopped up I can safely say that's enough for me!!!

That's about it for now. Hope you're all ok

Take care, Em x


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb