Lisgar Station


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
August 20th 2008
Published: August 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I thought it was about time to get my finger out and write another blog. What have I been up to for the last 5 and a bit weeks?!!

Having left Winton I travelled back South and over the Queensland border just into New South Wales to a small town called Yetman to start work on an 8 acre cattle station.

My first couple of weeks consisted of mainly what I was doing in Winton. Mustering and branding cattle just on a much smaller scale. After that it was just helping in general around the house, gardening and station. The main house was being renovated so lots of cleaning and tiding to be done! On the days the weather was bad I helped service some of the tools (chainsaw, brush cutter etc). I also had the nice job of collecting bones from the dead cattle which had decomposed in the paddocks!! God they stunk!!

My last couple of weeks were better as I got to do something new! I spent the best part of a week ploughing a rather large paddock going round and round in circles. Although it was fairly boring it was good thinking time and I had my ipod to keep me entertained when I wasn't trying to plough huge rocks which got stuck in the blades!! oops!! I'm still not sure how I managed to get this one particular rock out as I couldn't move it manually. All I can say is its lucky I was able to reverse, manoevure, reverse, manoevure, lift the blades up and down, up and down!!! lol Having finally sorted the rocks I managed to finish and have attached some pictures of my handy work!! Just a shame I didn't have anyone with me to take a picture of me driving it. I'm sure I would have looked rediculous in this huge tractor!! You may be asking how I could see!! luckily for me you can adjust the seat up!!!
The following week I got to cut down lots of pine trees using a brush cutter. I was only just tall enough to use it. Once it was hooked onto the body vest the blade just sat a few millimetres off the ground. I actually found it really heavy as all the weight was on one side but I managed to chop down lots of trees!!! I must admit my back was grumbling a bit and relieved to be finishing!!!

All in all I had another good experience!!

I've now moved on and back in Brisbane for a week. I'm actually WWOOFing again for the next few days just outside the city. General gardening and house work to help with the pennies!!! lol

Anyway must dash, bye for now and I'll try not to leave it so long next time!!

Em x


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.24s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb