The Killing


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Longreach
July 2nd 2008
Published: July 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Where do I start. Having not eaten red meat in years and not really even liking the feel of meat it will be a bit of a shock to you all back home that I managed to take part in the killing and butchering of a cow!!!

I actually got off lightly as Russ told me when I first arrived at the station that I would be helping with the butchering but one of his friends is over at the moment and he helped with that bit instead!!

However I was present for it all from the killing to chopping it up to even helping by holding the meat back whilst they cut and helping hanging it in the cold room!!

I even managed to surprise myself as I thought I'd pass out, not being so good with blood!! But all went well and I have to say I'm not so against it now I've seen it done as before the cow even knew what was happening it was dead!

Dad you'd have be proud of me. Maybe I've got a bit of the butcher in me yet!!! lol

Nina maybe you shouldn't look at the photo's!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb