The weather has turned...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Gold Coast » Surfers Paradise
November 26th 2011
Published: November 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I can practically hear the lines on your faces crease and change from a slightly bored dissinterested facial expression to pure glee.

Yes, I will admit I'm looking out the window at grey skies. Since being on the Gold Coast we have been unable to have one single 'beach day'. We've had one day of rain and lots of stormy clouds. But you twisted jealous lot its still been hot hot hot. The suns been out from time to time but even with the clouds its humid and sticky. About 27-30degrees.

Still, it doesn't encourage me to get in the sea for a surf lesson, too grey and cold for a bikini. I'm hoping for Sun before we leave on Tuesday. Gotta surf on the Gold Coast.

Anyway, lets go back two weeks, after the WONDERFUL Fraser Island. After a short trip to Noosa we headed on to Brisbane. The feel of our trip has changed, we're no longer skanky Hostel living backpackers but staying with friends of friends, a week in Brisbane and a week on the Gold Coast. Definately nice to be in one place for a bit longer. Nice to be with people for more than a day and relax a bit, seeing more of the area than we probably would do on buses.

Brisbane was a bit of a shock as it was our first city. A LOT bigger than I was expecting. We spent the week with friends, taking us out in the day and the evening. We were invited to people's for dinner. Everyone is soooo friendly! We went to Australia Zoo with Meagan which was cool but a slight dissapointment. A lovely day due to being with Meagan but it was $60 entry for only a few hours amusement, we were finished by 1 in the afternoon. For Steve Irwins amazing zoo it was pretty normal apart from the fact his family, mainly daughter Bindi, is plastered EVERYWHERE! The only cool thing was that we got to feed an Asian Elephant. Oh and the crocodile show was slightly cool. But they're no Steve are they?

Weather in Brisbane was HOT. And I mean HOT. It was probably the hottest weather we've experienced so far. But theres plenty of morning breaks and stops for the all important cooling down.

We spent a lot of the time with people rather
With the IrwinsWith the IrwinsWith the Irwins

Us with Meagan and the Irwin family.
than seeing things but it was a really good week. We went to Bribie Island beach for a bonfire in the evening. It was pretty amazing as you could see so many stars. And, hold onto your astrological hats boys and girls, a Comet! A couple of days before we saw a shooting star too. It was incredible. The skies are so much clearer than over crowded muggy England. (No offence to the Mother Country)

By the time we were saying goodbye to people it felt like we had been there years (in a good way). The sentimental side of me came back to bite and it was pretty sad. Particularly when everyone constantly says 'You should come and live over here' (But you know in your head thats a No but you just stand and smile and say 'Yer!'😉 Or 'Well, I'm sure you'll be back, then you can come visit again.' (And you think in your head only if I inherit masses of money and travel the rest of the world first. But you nod and say 'I really want to' As obviously I would, but then you realistically add 'and if you ever come to England,
333

Us with our Surrogate Brisbane Family.
let us know!'😉 The challenges of meeting friends on the other side of the world.

Next stop, Southport, close to Surfers Paradise. What we didn't know when planning our holiday was that the exact week we are on the Gold Coast is the week of Schoolies. Schoolies, what is that? I hear you ask. Australian version of American Summer Break. Ring any Bells? Ok, lets bring it closer to home. Malia, Malaga, Magaluf? Basically, thousands of school kids invade the streets to get some sun and drink drink drink. Schoolies kids are everywhere nursing hangovers and looking bleary eyed. Luckily, its not as bad as we thought it would be. But it is a lot busier.

Despite Schoolies we've managed to see Surfers Paradise (Walked around only due to weather) and also Byron Bay. We prefered Byron Bay, there was less people and was more relaxed. It was a little less hippy-ish than I thought but I did see enough dread-locked people, guitars and Camper vans to keep me happy. My one dissapointment of Byron Bay? (apart from once again not going on the Beach due to the weather) My camera case got stolen. Yer thats right, no
444

Brisbane friends.
good hippies. Ha. I took my camera out of it (I am so glad!) put it down on a bench while i took a picture and then wandered off. I walked back to get it and it was gone. I was genuinely a little bit distraught. Such a nice camera case (sorry Alex!) I'm blatantly going to break my camera now too. Oh well.

Casualties so far? Camera Case (Stolen) Bag (Broken) Bikini top (Broken) Two further cheap Bikini's (See-through) My money (Australia's expensiveness and my inability to stop buying stupid Australian souvenirs) Soon to be my cheap Primark strap tops (Rubbish Quality).

We've also went up the mountains to see an amazing mountain view and water falls. I feel I have lost my Bushman ways as I freaked out when I was told they have leeches and ticks in the forests. The thought of anything sucking my blood disturbs me.



Anyway, here's to hoping for more sun. Perth next week. Its 37 degrees there. Help me and my pathetically white skin!


Miss you all! Unless your a stranger and then I'm just regarding you with the same indifference I was before.
555

Delights of Surfers in the grey.

Jess and Chloe!

xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

66
6

Surfers during Schoolies
Art in Byron BayArt in Byron Bay
Art in Byron Bay

Random but I like how they paint all the 'ugly' parts of the street.
My Chai and Honey Ice Tea.My Chai and Honey Ice Tea.
My Chai and Honey Ice Tea.

My Chai and Honey Ice Tea at Versace. Soooo Good!
Versace Shop.Versace Shop.
Versace Shop.

Had to resist going in there...It was so pretty. Definate Self-Control had to be used.
Springbrook.Springbrook.
Springbrook.

Springbrook National park on a misty rainy day. Still Beautiful.


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb