Daintree


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Daintree
March 29th 2008
Published: March 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey all! So basically right after getting back from sydney we headed out on a 3 day field trip. On the way we stopped at Mossman Gorge which was a national park area... rainforest and water among all these huge rocks. It was beautiful and amazing. When we got to our accomadations (hostel in the rainforest called Crocodylas) we unpacked and stuff and then drove a few miles to Cow Bay Beach. sigh. it was amazing. sun, sand, shells, rainforest, blue ocean. i took a million pictures. walked along the beach. then laid in the sun reading. Just hung out after dinner playing cards and stuff. On the second day I got up for a bird walk in the morning. We didnt see much but it was still fun. Then we went to the Daintree Discovery Center. It was this really cool place IN the rainforest, with lots of interactive education. Also had this canopy tower so we were able to walk up and see various levels of the rainforest, including the top of the canopy. Twas really awesome. Then field lecture in some beautiful rainforest. Lunch, then went to this homemade ice cream place where they had fruit flavors. Twas great. Very yummy. And different. After that we had more field lectures in mangroves and stuff. Then we went to Cape Tribulation beach which was also gorgeous. laid on the beach in the sun. was wonderful. After dinner I went with a group to go spotlighting. Didn't see too much but what we saw was exciting. Then we went to the beach to see the stars.. but we actually ended up seeing a crocodile in the ocean!! it was sooo awesome. one of my highlights of this whole experience. I was so excited. And the stars were incredible. The next morning Jessica and I got up at 5:15am (that's right! i got up early. voluntarily) and walked about 2 miles to the beach in time to see the sun rise!!! it was incredibly. stunning. breathtaking. Took a bazillion pictures. And that was pretty much it. Went to a restoration spot for more field lectureness on the way back.

Was an amazing field trip. As per usual. I will try and put up a few pictures soon.

I cannot believe classes are almost done and our research is about to start. Nuts. I can't believe i've nearly been here two months. As much as I miss everyone from home, I don't really want to leave. I love it here sooo much! I hope one day I can come back. With some of the people I love to share it with them.

Advertisement



4th April 2008

Beautiful
Hey Jackie, great pics. And a crocodile to boot! Sounds so wonderful. love you! AC

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb