Chasing killer animals


Advertisement
Published: August 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

In my year of living in Australia and my year of mild obsession about the possibility of seeing a snake and wondering what to do if it happens, I've been told repeatedly by Australians by that I will never see one. Well certainly not in the city (thank heavens for that!) but it won't happen anywhere else either. Well - they are all wrong! Sighting number one was the snake in WA . Admittedly I have no verification of my story and while I still maintain it was a baby snake, I concede that it may well have been a slithery snake-like worm. There is no doubt however about my second sighting.

My latest weekend away was up to Port Douglas, and I took a day trip to the Daintree Rainforest. It was here that I can report a genuine and authentic snake spotting. There's no mistaking that long slithery beast for a worm! And even more surprisingly, when our guide said - oh look, there's a snake - I raced TOWARDS it! What was I thinking. Embarrassingly things got even worse as the day went on. It was almost like our day trip to the Daintree and Cape Tribulation was a search for things to kill you, and instead of going away from danger, I went towards it.

We had been told that the world's most dangerous fish (the stone fish), the world's most dangerous tree (the stinger tree), and the world's most dangerous bird (the cassowary) lived up there. Jeremy, our guide, then said, as if we were in any doubt: "Rule of thumb - everything will kill you". Well that was a cheery start to the day. However the Daintree is the oldest rainforest in the world, more than 135 million years old, so I guess it has a few tricks up its sleeve.

First on the agenda was a walk through the forest to find a stinger tree. These are the mean older brothers of the common stinging nettle, delivering a nasty neurotoxin when touched. It didn't look much, but I wasn't going to test it out. I kept my hands in my pockets and was glad of my long pants.

Then we headed down to the beach, which sounded innocuous enough, and the Cape Tribulation beach is really very pretty. Then Jeremy cheerfully told us that the very pretty cone shells are actually venomous with the potential to sting people if handled. So should you think you've struck it lucky to see one on the beach, you're better off to leave it there. Whatever you do, don't pick it up and put it in your pocket. So I got to the beach and went for a walk and did not add to my shell collection at all.

Next stop was into the thick of the forest for our jungle surfing adventure. After passing by what I will always think of as an undoubtedly deadly snake along the way, the flying fox zip-line was a breeze. Stunning scenery, and a thrilling ride through the air to enjoy it. On our final ride we could fly upside down. This was an opportunity I couldn't pass up, and it was definitely the highlight of the day, swinging through the trees hanging by my feet. Maybe I have a career as a circus acrobat after all?!

However the quest for killer beasts wasn't quite over yet. Driving towards the Daintree River for our croc tour, a car ahead of us stopped. The pointing and cameras alerted us to something interesting, and sure enough as we slowed our van we spotted cassowaries to our right, a glimpse of their beautiful blue plumage through the greenery. A very rare and shy bird, we were exceptionally lucky to have seen not only one, but three of them together. It's probably not a bad thing they're so retiring given they are also potentially deadly. The cassowary apparently has a killer claw, and has been known in rare instances to have killed people by kicking at them. Spotting a cassowary family was unusual; I think getting out of the car and trying to quietly observe the cassowary foraging for food was probably quite foolish. However our guide had told us that to protect ourselves we should stand behind a tree if a cassowary charged us. We were in a rainforest and surrounded by trees, maybe it wasn't so dangerous after all. Could it possibly be that simple?

The croc tour was fun and there was plenty to see, as luck would have it the first that we saw were some quite sweet little baby ones. The little ones were so tiny they seemed kind of cute....until you remember that baby ones grow into big ones and they are definitely not cute at all. However to balance the deadly man-killing saltwater crocs we spotted the most beautiful birds - I was particularly taken with the stunning azure kingkisher, and the very greedy giant egret who definitely had eyes bigger than his stomach as he gulped down a whole fish at least one size too big for him.

My final wildlife sighting for the day was a gorgeous little lost tree frog, who was hiding behind a hanging display in a gift store. I felt sorry for the little fellow and hope he found his way home.

All in all, having survived close encounters with the stinger tree, a snake, a cassowary family, and a whole bunch of crocs, who were all completely uninterested in increasing their bodycount, I started to relax about the killer Australian wildlife. Especially after returning back home to Sydney, where news on the telly was all about Sydney's escalating gun problem and more gun fights out in the wild west. Yep, I'll go back to the killer animals thanks, they don't seem so worrying after all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



10th August 2013
WHEEEEEE!

oh look, there's a snake - I raced TOWARDS it!
Can't cuddle snakes from up there Rachael
10th August 2013
WHEEEEEE!

Racing towards snakes
I'm quite sure if I had been alone I wouldn't have been so brave!
10th August 2013
WHEEEEEE!

....actually stupid is the other word - not brave at all!
10th August 2013

Coincidence?
After 40 years of living in Oz without a close encounter with a snake, yesterday Sylvia and I were up on a local headland watching for whales when I nearly stepped on a brown snake. Fortunately, it was more frightened of being stepped on and took off into the nearby bush, so I live to tell the tale. In all the time I have been in Oz, I have seen four snakes and they have all been running away.
11th August 2013

Wow, that was a close call! Yes, our Daintree snake was running away too. I don't know what type it was though.
10th August 2013
The upside down jungle surf.  LOTS of fun!

I've never seen anyone zip line upside down...
how did you stop? Did you get dizzy?
11th August 2013
The upside down jungle surf.  LOTS of fun!

I'm not sure how it all worked, but our guides could control our speeds and they stopped us. On another one they stopped us midway through for a photo shoot! I didn't feel dizzy. It was lots of fun!
10th August 2013

Where's the picture of the snake?
Without a picture you do not have proof! But I believe you...including you walking towards it.
11th August 2013

He was running away too fast for a photo, but he was definitely real!
11th August 2013

The Daintree
Hi Rachael, Great Blog, love the Daintree, Don't miss having a Daintree Ice cream". Our motto about snakes is you have to be very lucky to see one, and very unlucky to be bitten by one> Just keep your eyes open and you should spot one, but tread lightly as they are deaf, your foot steps usually scare them off. In our 4 1/2 years here, we have seen about a dozen, of various types. Stay safe and Happy travels. Kangaroojack
11th August 2013

Yes I had a Daintree ice cream a well, absolutely delicious! A couple of days before I got to port Douglas a very unlucky woman was bitten by one in the township as she was walking home and accidentally stood on one. I kept away from the sticks when I heard that!
11th August 2013

Stepping on snakes!
We were told by an Aussie friend to stamp our feet wherever we think snakes may be...apparently the vibrations scare them away from you? The only close encounter we had with a snake was a green one in Thailand, where it nearly slithered over Donna's foot! Don't think it was poisonous, but after that we stamped our feet whenever we walked through that area. Nice pics, love the one of the kangaroo chilling in the sun!
11th August 2013

I have hear this about warning snakes you're coming. I'll remember it next time I'm walking in the bush. You can't be too sure!! Goodness you'd have gotten a fright if that snake had gone over your foot!
11th August 2013

Chasing killer animals.
Another great travel blog, Rachael. You have such varied and interesting Australian excursions. Really enjoyed reading this one and all the photos with it. Look forward to reading about your next trip. xx
11th August 2013

It's lovely to hear from you Richard. I'm not sure what my next Australian adventure will be, maybe a bit closer to home, at least for a bit. I'm going to Sri Lanka in December, so that should be a real adventure!
14th August 2013
An azure kingfisher. Gorgeous colours in the jungle

Azure Kingfisher
Great shot Rachel. These small birds don't hang around long for photos generally. I had one of these lined up last year at Cania Gorge, QLD, but just couldn't get the focus and shot before the kingfisher shot through. I have given you a rating of 5 on this photo for the patience and luck required to get a good one. They are a startling colour and generally found against drab back grounds. Definitely a good shot. Rob
14th August 2013
An azure kingfisher. Gorgeous colours in the jungle

Thank you! I really fell in love with these gorgeous birds. I think I was really lucky to get this shot - I was in a boat doing a croc tour. I've got a pretty good zoom too - that and luck!

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 19; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb