Oh Crikey!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
June 18th 2007
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Feeding the KangaroosFeeding the KangaroosFeeding the Kangaroos

These creatures are so bizarre up close...
We flew into Australia about a week ago and I must say that it was a welcome change. After the cold weather of New Zealand we were loving the tropical weather of Northern Queensland. We checked out the town for a couple days and found that Cairns is definitely a drinking town and that there are tons of backpackers here. In fact it seems like you meet people from all over the world except for Australia. Regardless, it is a fun place and is one of the major ports out to the Great Barrier Reef.

We decided to check out the zoo so we could see some native animals. While there we got to feed some kangaroos and watch a crocodile show. They were trying to tell us that crocodiles were not as bad as they seem and that people who were attacked tended to be in known crocodile habitats, swimming in the water, and the majority of them were drunk. I still think those creatures are soulless beings hell bent on death and destruction. At first, feeding the kangaroos was a little nerve racking because I just couldn't trust them. One second you are trying to force one to eat out of your hand and the next moment 5 of them would bounce up and surround you. I felt like it was a ploy and they were just debating whether they wanted to wait to eat from my hand or just punch me in the face and take the bag from me. We were told that they are very stupid animals so that calmed our nerves and we were able to relax to enjoy the experience.

Since we arrived in Cairns we had also wanted to check out the Great Barrier Reef, since it was one of the natural wonders of the world. We booked a boat trip and scuba dive out on the reef, although it had been rainy and windy all week. We figured what the hell since we were only going to be here for a few more days. We also rented a underwater camera to get some pictures and video, which might be posted at a later time. The way out was ridiculously rough, making everyone on the boat sick to their stomach. Except for the Pekrul Bro's...of course....although we got pretty nauseas. The ocean swell was so massive and the ride so
This little bugger is byoootttiiiifffulll!!!This little bugger is byoootttiiiifffulll!!!This little bugger is byoootttiiiifffulll!!!

I believe I am going to stick my head inside his mouth and have a look around.
up and down, I thought even if I wanted to hurl, our boat would probably hit a wave and I'd smash the sick bag into my face. Scuba diving was awesome. We saw a sea turtle and tons of colorful fish. Eventhough it was raining with gale force winds you would never have know it down there. We snorkelled in a couple different reefs and then headed back into town to the sound of an aboriginal man playing Bob Marley covers, it was quite fun.

Cairnes has been a good time but it is time to move on. Ryan and I get our campervan tomorrow and will start to head up to Cape Tribulation and Port Douglas before we move down the coast.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Hastings ReefHastings Reef
Hastings Reef

To give you an idea of what we were seeing.
ParrotfishParrotfish
Parrotfish

This guy wasn't shy in front of the camera.
Shaka!!!Shaka!!!
Shaka!!!

Shaka down under! literally.
Water Guitar!!!Water Guitar!!!
Water Guitar!!!

I even rock underwater.


19th June 2007

*sob* That was so metal...
Underwater guitar playing...its like you've never left home. That was so metal I put two stars with a "sob" in between to show how much it meant to me. That all being said, I'm glad finding out animals were dumb calmed your nerves, but I got news for ya, the only dumb animals out there are you!! Swimming in Shark Infested AUSTRALIA!! C'mon, do you guys not watch Shark week every year!? I'd love to stay and chat but I shat myself thinking of the godless killing machine known as the Great White Shark. Excuse me while I make a date with Charmin.
20th June 2007

Glad you guys are havin fun. HEAVY METAL FOREVER RUSS!!!! Anyway i have just arrived from my long journey from carlsbad and it was very exciting, now i will be traveling to the holy land of Las vegas. Find some hot aussie chicks and post them. Peace out
26th June 2007

Great Barriers Reef
Go for it guys. Don't let the roos punch you, the crocs bite you or the Aussie women make you think they have IQs higher than 80. Eh mate?Stay completely "under the liquid effects" and all is well...just like the diving....see. Glad to see you are having fun!!!
27th June 2007

Looks like fun. Keep up the posts.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0806s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb