Dumped by a Hammock


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Inn The Tropics
September 6th 2009
Published: September 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post


DAY 303


Again it was out intention that today Sunday we were going to do a big walk, but as we did not get in from a fantastic night out last night until after 2.30 am, we struggled to move our lazy backsides out of bed.

Caroline was up first and brought me tea in bed, how wonderful it was after all it is usually my duty, but today it was my turn.

We didn’t really come around until about 10.00am and lolled around the house really enjoying the Sunday that we had.

After the papers were scoured through and cruising around the internet, the TV went on and we settled down in to a film which was just the worst thing we could have done, we both just settled down in to the sofa’s and got on with the movie.

The film finishes and Caroline comments that we better get out and about and said it would be nice if we went down to the Cairns Esplanade and have a walk around, so we jump in to the bat mobile and head out.

First things first we pop in to a car auto parts place to get a couple of bits that we need for the Patrol then head off back in to town.

We arrive at the Esplanade and park the truck, it’s a lovely sunny day, there are lots of people picnicking, with friend son the lawns or using the BBQ’s that are provided for people, kids are running about, sadley are generally it’s a perfect picture of an out door society enjoying being with friends and families in this gorgeous weather.

It went through our thoughts that it may be really busy at the Esplanade as today is Fathers Day here in Australia, but the park isn’t that busy so I guess they are at home and in restaurants being spoilt for being the best dads in their children’s eyes.

We walked along the Esplanade, the view is stunning despite the mud flats, we walk out over a boardwalk and look down at the mud flats, within the space of a few minutes we could see the ground moving, 1000’s of Mud crabs are on the move going this way and that, we walk on along the Esplanade enjoying the views and the atmosphere of the day.

Once we had had enough we walk all the way back to the truck and head off home going back to the house in Bay view.

Caroline suggests that we stop and grab a coffee on the way back, which seems a nice idea.

Back at home Caroline retires to the hammock out on the veranda, I hear a thud and ask her if she is ok.

Oh the wildlife spotting is great here, what better place to be to watch the intricacies of how the wildlife behave.

I sat on the hammock, swung my feet round and grabbed my Nintendo, it was time for some Brain Training. Shortly after taking the relaxation position I felt something tickle my leg, I moved my hand to brush away what was tickling it, no problem but the tickle came back along with the sudden realisation that I never checked the hammock for possible intruders prior to sitting in it.

My imagination raced along with whatever seemed to be continuing to tickle me, I began thinking about all of the nasty 8 legged creatures that exist in this environment, Huntsman, Wolf Spiders, Redbacks etc. So gingerly I lifted one side of my body and craned my neck around only to see a rather bewildered Gecko starting right back at me with its big beady eyes, it felt as if the Gecko was saying to me “Do you mind? I was here first!”

In my haste and also trying to be careful not to squash this innocent and bewildered little creature, I suddenly span round in the hammock which suddenly then dumped me on the floor.

To this hour I have no idea what happened to that bewildered little Gecko, it is probably still in shock and avoiding the hammock at all costs.

I resumed my place in the hammock but it was not long before the mosquito’s started their attack, they seem to be larger than most mosquito’s we have come across, or is that just my lively imagination kicking in again?

All of a sudden in the space of 24 hours I seem to be being eaten alive again by Mosquito’s, in recent weeks, they have not been so bad and bites have been few and far between, in a bid to keep them away I tried one of these concoctions that people have been kind enough to tell us about, however it seems that copious amounts of Dettol and Baby Oil have brought me up in a rash! I think it must actually work as in the last 24 hours I have not been able to put any kind of deterrent on my skin, otherwise the allergy will get worse, and subsequently I am being bitten, like I have not been bitten since Kakadu.

Tonight Caroline cooked a full roast beef dinner, it was just great we did it in the oven as Julie would not have appreciated us making a fire in the living room and us using our camp oven.

It was a treat great to have the comforts of a home even for a short while, after dinner we settled down again to watch a film we were looking for which was The Queen with Helen Mirren.

We stayed up again until fairly late, watched the great film then retired to bed.
e


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb