Brisbane!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
February 27th 2009
Published: February 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

South BankSouth BankSouth Bank

man-made beach in Brisbane!
Hi everyone!
I've been in Brisbane for about a week now and it's great! This place is beautiful, the city is so clean and nice! A couple days ago we went to this man made beach in the city, it was so cool! There's a normal pool and then right next to it there is a sand beach that looks over the city. So we just layed out on the beach most the day.

This past Monday was our first day of orienation at Uni (that's what they call college here). We had a few intro sessions to go through, not the most exciting things. However, afterwords there was a BBQ outside at their pool which was nice. They called it a 'sausage sizzle'; it was pretty much hotdogs, but they don't call them hotdogs here. We ended up meeting a local Aussie girl and she was so cool. Her name was Ashleigh and she ended up showing us around the campus a little bit. University of Queensland's campus is beautiful and so big. Schduling classes here are a bit different from back home, so I'm still trying to figure out my final schedule. I'm planning to take
South BankSouth BankSouth Bank

more of South Bank
Ecology, Australia's Marine Environment, Marine Science and possibly Australia's terrestrial environment or Australian Popular Culture. I finally got my school ID made as well.
On Tuesday night a bunch of us decided to go out and we ended up at an Irish bar. We found out that Mondays and Tuesdays aren't really the nights to go out in Brisbane, but we had fun anyway, there was a singer and he sang a bunch of classic rock songs that I loved. It was a fun night. Wednesday we went back on campus for what is called 'Market Day'. All the clubs and organizations were out and some little shops and there were people giving away free stuff all day. I really wanna join some club or sport but don't know yet which one. Aussies love sport here so it's awesome! There were so many people out at Market Day and it was so hot! So we stayed for a few hours then left to go to Toowong, which is a little shopping center we can get our groceries at and things we need as well as some restaurants. Later on that night we all went out to a bar called
UQ CampusUQ CampusUQ Campus

a look at part of campus from the Great Courtyard..it's so pretty
the Regatta, and it was a blast, just so many people. But the place was filled with Aussies-I really need to get used to their bar culture here!! We met up with some friends and just had a good night. Yesterday we went out shopping at another mall in Brisbane called Indooroopilly. We had to buy our internet there because we have been having a hard time getting internet in our apartment so a few of us all went out and got individual sticks to put in our USB port to get internet. It's so weird here because they don't have unlimited internet like we do in the States. They go by how many GBs you want and you can only use so much a month; it's different. While we were there I got some materials to make my toga outfit for the night. Last night was a huge toga party at one of the bars to kick of the week before Uni. Apparently they do this every year and it was soooo packed. We got there at 6pm! You have to get there early or you'll be waiting in line forever! It was so much fun!! But it was
Toga PartyToga PartyToga Party

one of the bars has a Huge toga party before Uni starts up, it was packed, but so much fun!
super crowded; by about 7:30pm we couldn't move and the place was huge. I stayed for over 6 hours and was so exhausted by the time I left. I met a lot of new Aussies last night and they were pretty cool. We met up with our friend Ashleigh who we met at orienation and her friends and they are so sweet and awesome people. Today I plan to go to campus and find the majority of the buildings of where my classes are going to be. I also want to join the gym there on campus, so I'm going to go talk to them but it's quite expensive to join, but I think it'll be worth it. I've noticed that things are a lot more expensive here than back in the State! Cheap shampoo is like $6! And here they have subway, but instead of $5 footlongs like back home, they have $7 footlongs! And what's really neat about their money here is that it's plastic money and it seriously is waterproof and doesn't rip at all! Oh yeah, and their Burger King here is called Hungry Jacks, same thing, different name. They also don't have pocket folders here,
My UniMy UniMy Uni

University of Queensland :)
which is upsetting beause I always use folders! I pretty much learn something new about the Aussie culture everyday, but it's fun. All in all I've been having a blast here; I really do love Australia!! I'm hoping to hit up the Gold Coast or Sunshine Coast either this weekend or next weekend. The surfing is big in those areas and I believe there is a big surfing competition going on this weekend and next weekend at the Gold Coast, so it'd be pretty neat to see!

Advertisement



28th February 2009

Stephanie this is so weird reading this, b/c I'm like woah I was doing the exact things this time last year!! :( i miss it so! try to make it to the Gold Coast, that's were I was!
1st March 2009

I'm glad you're having a fun time in Australia, Stephanie! I look forward to further blog entries!

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb