And so the classes begin...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » St Lucia
March 15th 2009
Published: March 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

UQ CampusUQ CampusUQ Campus

Walking up to Uni; so pretty
I feel like I have written in forever!! I guess it's been a couple weeks since I've written a blog, sorry about that! Anyway, classes have begun here at Uni and I've had 2 full weeks of classes. They don't seem too bad, but I'll be a busy lady 😊. I've narrowed down my finalized classes for the semester. I'm taking 3 classes, one called Australia's Marine Environment, another Australia's Terrestrial Environment and my last class is Marine Science. Australia's Marine Environment seems to be a more laid back class as most the students are international. We are able to participate in 2 big field trips throughout the semester, one being next weekend! Next weekend I'm going to a place called Moreton Bay; it's about a couple hours north here of Brisbane. Moreton Bay is an island and we'll be doing some research up there. We also have the opportunity to go to Heron Island Research Station for part of our fall break (or spring break to the US). Heron Island is located of the botton of the Great Barrier Reef and we'll get the opportunity to see researchers at work and do our own research ourselves and write up a
NightlifeNightlifeNightlife

Meggie, Me, Courtney and Sam out for a night at Normanbys!
scientific report. So for the most part I think I'm going to enjoy that class.

Another class, Australia's Terrestrial Environment, should also be a fun learning experience. We have the opportunity to participate in 3 field trips this semester, one being Brisbane National Forest this coming Thursday! We also have the opportunity to go to Fraser Island, largest sand island in the world, I believe, as well as the Australia Zoo. My last class is called Marine Science. This class is going to be the most challenging of all. This class involves physics, chemistry, biology and statistics all in one! So far we've learned about how the ocean and atmosphere work; it's really interesting but some of it just goes over my head because I'm not used to knowing all about the physics and chemistry of the ocean and it's atmosphere! But I think I'm going to learn a great deal in that class and it might even inspire me to what I want to do in the future; it's really interesting.

The University of Queensland's campus is absolutely gorgeous! The campus is huge, but just so pretty! I could study here for more than a semester! I've
Brisbane Broncos!Brisbane Broncos!Brisbane Broncos!

RUBGY: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Broncos vs. Townsville Cowboys
met quite a few people here and everyone seems very chill and friendly for the most part. It's been very hot here and I'm always sweating it feels like. However, this past week has been a bit cooler because of Cyclone Hamish that was here. It's been rainy the past week because of the cylcone and I've definitely missed the sun. But I'm looking out my window right now and it's sunny! Looks like the cyclone is finally moving on elsewhere.

I've been going out here and there but not too too much becuase things here are really expensive and have been trying not to spend too much money and rather use it to travel later on. I'm trying to get to Adelaide/Port Lincoln in 2 weeks to go cage diving with the Great White Sharks. I know it sounds scary, but I've always wanted to do something like that. It's safe; I'll be in a cage 😊. But how cool would it be to see a Great White swim right past you?! I think it could potentially be one of the best experiences of my life! There is so much I want to do here and so little
Brisbane Broncos!Brisbane Broncos!Brisbane Broncos!

quite the action!
time and money. I really want to go visit Melbourne and Sydney sometime as well. All the locals here tell me I have to get to Melbourne because it's such a great city and has all the sports and shopping! Perfect for me!

I've been trying to keep up to date with things happening in the US, but it's a bit difficulte when you only really have internet to rely on. I'm sad I'm not going to be able to follow March Maddness (NCAA college basketball tournament) live because I'm so into that when I'm in the States. Looks like Kentucky isn't going to get a bid this year to the tournament, a bit surprising, but they've been playing awful there past couple games. I'm going to root on Michigan State all the way hopefully!! The Aussies here are really big into sports here as well. Over here, Rugby, AFL and Cricket are pretty popular. Everyone says Cricket is boring, but it's quite fun to play, but yes, boring to watch. I went to my first Rugby game this past Friday night and it was awesome! It's a bit like football except they wear no pads! And the rules
Rugby gameRugby gameRugby game

Meggie and I having a good time watching Rugby!
are different. I would say Rugby is like Football and Ultimate Frisbee combined. It was pretty fun to watch. The team we were rooting for, the Brisbane Broncos, won! They played the Townsville Cowboys, which is a pretty big rivalry and it was the opening game.

Anyway, I've bee having fun here and time is flying! I'll write again soon after I go to Moreton Bay next weekend!!

Advertisement



15th March 2009

Hey Stephanie. It looks like you're fitting in well! I hope you continue to enjoy your stay!
16th March 2009

2009 Tourney
I see you are having a good time, I would love to visit another country again which I will have the oppourtunity again in a couple of years, It's real intresting learning about a different land, but anyway here is the skinny. Of course the TV announcer's: Jay Bilas, hubert Davis, Digger Phelps to name a few bash the Big X about how we are not any good and expect all of our teams to lose in the 1st and 2nd rounds, except dare i say MState, but hopefuully the Big X as a conference shuts the critics up. Oh yea we did get 7 teams into the Big Dance.....go figure! Peace out
2nd April 2009

MSU
Now you've got to root for the SPARTANS and the BIG Ten!!

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb